Echo Base Shield Generators

By Rogue 4, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Strategy

This card is a beast. The LS does not have to worry about losing Edge battle anymore. Once you see this combo, use it to the fullest. I will leave you all to ponder how to make this work, but once you realize it, you will be happy.

echo-base-shield-generator.png

It probably isn't a secret, but some might not see it yet.

I'm not seeing why you think it is so powerful. First of all, Rebels have so many edge-enabled blast icons, that they still really need to win the edge, even if they have a shield on their units. Secondly, you are still restricted to only one shield per unit. The only card that breaks that rule as far as I'm aware is Our Most Despearte Hour .

True, though, you could generate three shields in your deployment phase, play it again, and generate 3 more (it wouldn't go back to your hand till the next turn), but you would need 6 units out to make that useful.

Budgernaut said:

I'm not seeing why you think it is so powerful. First of all, Rebels have so many edge-enabled blast icons, that they still really need to win the edge, even if they have a shield on their units. Secondly, you are still restricted to only one shield per unit. The only card that breaks that rule as far as I'm aware is Our Most Despearte Hour .

True, though, you could generate three shields in your deployment phase, play it again, and generate 3 more (it wouldn't go back to your hand till the next turn), but you would need 6 units out to make that useful.

That is not the strategy part I was refering to Budgernaut.

Dmeboy that does bring up a question about this card. Is it once per turn that you may place a shield on a unit, or that once per turn it blows up and goes to your hand?

In other words, say I have no damage on it. I place 3 damage on it and place 3 shields on separate units. I return the generator to my hand. I have enough resources to play it again, but because of the once per turn I can not blow it up again.

OR

does it mean like you are implying, that you can only use the placing of a shield on a unit once per turn?

But this does not have anything to do with the original trick I was talking about with this card.

It does mean that the whole ability is limited to once/turn. There's no reason to limit just the last part of the ability anyways… it can't return to your hand twice anyways as it would no longer be on table to return after the first time. Incidently, that is the one way you can use it twice in a turn: use it, bounce it, replay it, use it again.

dbmeboy said:

It does mean that the whole ability is limited to once/turn. There's no reason to limit just the last part of the ability anyways… it can't return to your hand twice anyways as it would no longer be on table to return after the first time. Incidently, that is the one way you can use it twice in a turn: use it, bounce it, replay it, use it again.

I'm not even sure your last scenario is correct. An action occurs once per turn regardless of whether or not the card generating that action leaves play and returns in that turn. Perfect example would be force choke. It leaves play after it resolves, so the text limiting it to once a turn is no longer in play, but that doesn't mean you can play another in the same turn.

SmokeyJ said:

dbmeboy said:

It does mean that the whole ability is limited to once/turn. There's no reason to limit just the last part of the ability anyways… it can't return to your hand twice anyways as it would no longer be on table to return after the first time. Incidently, that is the one way you can use it twice in a turn: use it, bounce it, replay it, use it again.

I'm not even sure your last scenario is correct. An action occurs once per turn regardless of whether or not the card generating that action leaves play and returns in that turn. Perfect example would be force choke. It leaves play after it resolves, so the text limiting it to once a turn is no longer in play, but that doesn't mean you can play another in the same turn.

Before this gets too out of hand with the way the card is actually played, here is the combo that we use with this card (again it is probably a trick others know about).

After the defenders are annouced place the last shield you can with this card and bounce it to your hand getting ready to use the 3 edge the card offers. Then lay this in the edge battle and it should help the low edge enabled Rebel decks actually win an edge or two.

Rogue 4 said:

Before this gets too out of hand with the way the card is actually played, here is the combo that we use with this card (again it is probably a trick others know about).

After the defenders are annouced place the last shield you can with this card and bounce it to your hand getting ready to use the 3 edge the card offers. Then lay this in the edge battle and it should help the low edge enabled Rebel decks actually win an edge or two.