Ben's Spirit, also Desolation of Hoth

By chiller087, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

Two questions:

1: If Old Ben's Spirit is attached to a character with 2 health capacity, and then that unit is hit with 4 points of damage from 1 strike during an engagement, does that extra damage carry over, or does Ben's Spirit stop the death, and the rest of the damage simply isn't applied?

2: If I have The Killing Cold in play with 4 damage on it, and I want to play Desolation of Hoth to move a bunch of damage over to Luke Skywalker (who has no damage), can I move all 4 pts of damage to Luke, or am I only allowed to move an amount of damage that is equal to his remaining health capacity, which means I would only move 3?

Micah

chiller087 said:

Two questions:

1: If Old Ben's Spirit is attached to a character with 2 health capacity, and then that unit is hit with 4 points of damage from 1 strike during an engagement, does that extra damage carry over, or does Ben's Spirit stop the death, and the rest of the damage simply isn't applied?

2: If I have The Killing Cold in play with 4 damage on it, and I want to play Desolation of Hoth to move a bunch of damage over to Luke Skywalker (who has no damage), can I move all 4 pts of damage to Luke, or am I only allowed to move an amount of damage that is equal to his remaining health capacity, which means I would only move 3?

Micah

1. When a unit strikes, for each engagement icon type, all happen at the same time (3 unit damage, 2 blast icons, 3 tactics, etc.). So, when the character with OBS is damaged by a strike, it all goes on at the same time, so the excess doesn't even touch the unit.

2. On the same thread (and my computer's being wonky, so I don't have the card to look at). If it says "any number", then it all gets moved at the same time, and Luke takes 4 damage even though he only can take 3 before dying.

stormwolf27 said:

1. When a unit strikes, for each engagement icon type, all happen at the same time (3 unit damage, 2 blast icons, 3 tactics, etc.). So, when the character with OBS is damaged by a strike, it all goes on at the same time, so the excess doesn't even touch the unit.

Just to clarify: rule book p. 20, "The striking player decides the order in which he resolves the combat icon types on his striking card. Resolve each icon type as follows…"

I don't believe they "happen at the same time."

EDIT: stormwolf27 was probably saying that all the damage of each type of icon happens all at the same time, not the individual icons themselves happening at the same time. Hopefully, I didn't confuse things.