Alchemist

By player634503, in Talisman Rules Questions

Hi,

I have one question about the Aventure Card "Alchemist". Lets´ say that my Character have 4 objects and no Mule. He also has the "Alchemsit". The Character lands on a Draw Card space and draws 2 cards, 2 new objects. Can he turn these 2 new objects in to gold even if he allready have his max. of 4 objects?

Thanks´

Mickli said:

Hi,

I have one question about the Aventure Card "Alchemist". Lets´ say that my Character have 4 objects and no Mule. He also has the "Alchemsit". The Character lands on a Draw Card space and draws 2 cards, 2 new objects. Can he turn these 2 new objects in to gold even if he allready have his max. of 4 objects?

Thanks´

In my eyes, you cannot do that.

You must first put the object in your inventory.

Another option is, that you turn your objects that you carry into gold with the alchemist and then take the object that you draw into your inventory.

This is the same as the casket. If you cannot take the casket in your inventory then you can't open it.

My question is very similar. Let's say, like Mickli, my character has the alchemist, 4 objects and no mule. He obtains 2 new objects, bringing the total number of objects to 6, so now he must leave 2 of his 6 objects face-up on his space. Could he instead allow his alchemist to convert two of the objects to gold?

My friend says he can. I'm not so sure, because in this case I'm not choosing to get rid of the objects; I'm being forced to. Does this make a difference?

Follow-up question: When the alchemist converts an object, it gets discarded, not ditched on the character's space, right?

Thanks in advance for your input.

Yes, you can turn 2 of the 4 you already had to gold in order to pick up the 2 new that you drew.