New player's question

By Goldenrod, in Rules questions & answers

I ordered the game and waiting to receive it. So far I have 2 questions:

1 - Concerning guarded objective. If an enemy is guarding the objective, do you treat it like an enemy and move it to a player's area for combat and once defeated, move back the objective to the staging area? If guarded by a location, once you have traveled to the location and explored it, when discarded the objective move back to the staging area?

2 - Forest Spider: "Forced: After Forest Spider engages a player, it gets +1 ATK until the end of the round." Does this apply when the Player engagement step, the engagement checks step or both? If Forest Spider aren't killed this round, next round, since they are already engaged, they remain at 2 ATK or 3 again? I am confused because the example in the rulebook use the Forest Spider but they don't give the +1 ATK.

Thanks

Goldenrod said:

I ordered the game and waiting to receive it. So far I have 2 questions:

1 - Concerning guarded objective. If an enemy is guarding the objective, do you treat it like an enemy and move it to a player's area for combat and once defeated, move back the objective to the staging area? If guarded by a location, once you have traveled to the location and explored it, when discarded the objective move back to the staging area?

2 - Forest Spider: "Forced: After Forest Spider engages a player, it gets +1 ATK until the end of the round." Does this apply when the Player engagement step, the engagement checks step or both? If Forest Spider aren't killed this round, next round, since they are already engaged, they remain at 2 ATK or 3 again? I am confused because the example in the rulebook use the Forest Spider but they don't give the +1 ATK.

Thanks

1.when a location or enemy is guarding a location you treat it as a normal location or enemy. once explored or defeated the card usually states on it what to do. usually it just stays there (no one else comes to guard it) until you can do whatever it is once you need to do with it (ie. in hunt for gollum once cleared, you can claim the clue card after questing sucessfully)

2.the +1 attack applies whether you engage it, or whether it engages you….there is no difference here. after the next round they go back to 2 attack.

rich

Thank you.

Another one. If a location in the staging area has a number of progress tokens equal to its quest point number while in the staging area, is it discarded or only once it moved to the active location area?

Thanks again. One day I'll master the game…

Goldenrod said:

Thank you.

Another one. If a location in the staging area has a number of progress tokens equal to its quest point number while in the staging area, is it discarded or only once it moved to the active location area?

Thanks again. One day I'll master the game…

a location is discard immeditaly after is has enough progres tokens on it, regardless of where it is

dont worry, ive been playing this from the start 2 years ago and still ask questions :)

rich

Legolas: Do you put the progress tokens on the qeust if there is an active location?

Goldenrod said:

Legolas: Do you put the progress tokens on the qeust if there is an active location?

no, the active location always acts as a buffer unless otherwise stated

from the FAQ

(1.27) Bypass the active location
The only time an active location does not act as a
buffer for progress to be placed on a quest is when card
text specifically instructs the players to “bypass” the
active location.

Q: Does the effect on Legolas (CORE 5) place progress
tokens on an active location, if there is one?
A: Yes. Always place progress tokens on an active
location instead of the quest, unless the ability
specifically states to bypass any active location.

rich