The Lion's Cunning

By J_Roel, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

I was playing a game with my brother the other day when a situation arose that I wasn't so sure about. He was playing Lannister and attacked me with 1 character. I was going to win on the defense, but he paid 3 gold to raise his character up by 3 strength using The Lion's Cunning . My understanding would be that he cannot pay three gold, because there are not three participating characters. He would have no choice but to pay only one gold when playing the event if there is only one valid target, correct?

J_Roel said:

I was playing a game with my brother the other day when a situation arose that I wasn't so sure about. He was playing Lannister and attacked me with 1 character. I was going to win on the defense, but he paid 3 gold to raise his character up by 3 strength using The Lion's Cunning . My understanding would be that he cannot pay three gold, because there are not three participating characters. He would have no choice but to pay only one gold when playing the event if there is only one valid target, correct?

You are correct. When you have to pay X to choose X, you must choose X. If it said "… to choose up to X [Lannister] characters…," then it would be different. But, as it is, he can only pay up to the number of participating [Lannister] characters in the challenge to give them that much STR.