blanking text boxes….

By Wolfbrother, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

blanking cards often raises interesting questions , heres mine. if i nightmares an opponents maseter (doesn't matter who) with the apprentice collar attached can he play chains on him from his agenda/ house card upon winning challenges? the agneda specifically says "printed maester you control" but now you maesters text box is blank, but to make this puzzle diffcult he also has an attachment that makes him a maester. so what happens? also if i am running the plot fortified position, can you trigger meera reed's any phase ability? im sure ill think of more but some clarification on this would be great. thanks btw follow me on twitter @wolfbrotherRob

The Agenda only looks at "Printed", although the chain looks at having the trait. In this case, because the character has the printed Maester trait and the apprentice collar grants him the maester trait, you can move chains to him. There was some discussion about whether you could still try to move a chain to a blanked maester (because it satisfies the requirements of the Agenda, but not of the chain), and I believe Ktom confirmed you could not.

As for Meera's Any-Phase ability, it's triggered from out of play so is completely unaffected by Fortified Position, even if she's in play for the "then" effect, you've alread triggered/resolving the ability. Blanking doens't retroactively do anything - it prevents future effects on the blanked card from initiating, and turns off constant effects (eg Winterfell castle). It does not, for instance, prevent Catelyn Stark (LoW) from returning to hand, because the effect that put her into play is a lasting effect which will bounce her at the end of the phase, regardless of whether catelyn is blanked at the time.

I see blank printed text box as the printed text box should be treated as if it was blank, thus adding the measter title back wouldnt give it printed text of measter but just the title of measter. But if I understand what you are saying is that blanking doesnt get rid of the printed text box but instead give the card -1 of all the words in the text box (-measter, -other title, -keywords) is this correct?

Blanking the text box only affects things actually printed in the text box - so the Maester trait you gain from Apprentice Collar isn't affected (unless you also blank Apprentice Collar).

Most manipulations of keywords/traits/str do, however, work as you describe. If a character has stealth and loses stealth, then is giving it by some attachment - he effectively has stealth (it's a 1 -1+1)

johnn0411 said:

I see blank printed text box as the printed text box should be treated as if it was blank, thus adding the measter title back wouldnt give it printed text of measter but just the title of measter.

Nightmares doesn't change the fact that the card has a printed Maester trait, even if that trait happens to be blank; might be misunderstanding what you are asking, but if I'm not, the answer is that if a blanked Maester is given an Apprentice Collar it then has both the printed Maester trait and is granted the Maester trait by the attachment so it is legal to move a Chain onto it from TMP.

my main question is since the errata of TMP being "printed" trait, wouldnt losing that trait through effects like nightmares/etc now negate that card from recieving attachments from the agenda, since it literally no longer has the requisite printed trait? even if it has an attachment that grants it maester

"Printed" literally means the physical ink on the card. This can never be blanked by a card effect. However, the chains require the maester trait in general, which is lost to blanking effects. A maester can lose the maester trait but still have it originally printed on the card and thus no longer be a maester for the purposes of attaching chains period.

I'm sorry but these forums suck for typing posts from a smart phone. It is difficult to be more clear right now.

Or, to put it a third way

Maester Aemon is both a Printed Maester (the Maester trait is printed on his card) and is a Maester (he currently has the maester trait).

>You play nightmares on him

He is now still a Printed Maester (the maester trait is printed on his card), but is NOT a maester (he currently lacks the maester trait).

>You attach apprentice collar to him

He is now a printed maester and a maester (he has been granted the maester trait by apprentice collar)

>Old Nan removes his maester trait

He is back to being a printed maester but not a maester.

interesting so a blanked maester could receive chains but because he currently lacks the trait they are immediately discarded. ok good to know

Actually, no. A maester has to fulfill every restriction to have a chain attached to him from the agenda:

-He has to be a printed maester as the agenda requires him to be. In this scenario, it doesn't matter whether the maester is blanked as he'll retain his printed trait.

-He has to have the maester trait as the chains (except apprentice link) requires him to be. If the maester does not meet this requeriment, as per being blanked or lost his trait due to Old nan, he cannot have the chain attached to him.