vyman versus vyman

By Robby Stark, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

this is vyman : http://www.cardgamedb.com/forums/uploads/1281901976/med_gallery_21_220089.jpg

heres the situation: we both have vyman in play, and his vyman has a duplicate and mine doesnt. he plays valar, and obviouly what I want to do is cancel his vyman duplicate with my vyman ability be fore my vyman dies. does that work? it's the word ''only target'' that bugs me.

heres another situation where the word ''target'' is ambiguous. lets say vyman is the last man alive. he is alone on the board when they play westeros bleeds. can vyman save himself?

I hate to quote the FAQ, but "target" is directly in the FAQ on page 13:

Target
The target identifies what card or cards the
character ability's effect is applied to. The
word choose is always used to denote a
target. If a character ability does not have the
word "choose," then it does not have a target.
Viserion's
ability has a target in "choose (and
kill) a kneeling character." If the ability read
"Stand all characters," then it would not be
considered to have a target (because it does
not include the word "choose.")
If you do not have a valid target for the
character ability, you may not trigger its
effects. Not all character abilities have a target.

Neither Valar nor Westeros Bleeds target anything, although your Vyman cancel should be able to cancel his Vyman dupe-save.

that would only be the case if using the response granted by having a duplicated chooses Vyman as a target.

"if one of your unique cards is about to

leave play, as a triggered ‘Response:’ effect,
you may discard an attached duplicate to
save the unique card from leaving play. This
includes, but is not limited to, an effect that
kills, discards, returns the card to hand, deck,

shadows, or removes the card from the game."

i dont see the word choose anywhere in there

Bomb said:

I hate to quote the FAQ, but "target" is directly in the FAQ on page 13:

Target
The target identifies what card or cards the
character ability's effect is applied to. The
word choose is always used to denote a
target. If a character ability does not have the
word "choose," then it does not have a target.
Viserion's
ability has a target in "choose (and
kill) a kneeling character." If the ability read
"Stand all characters," then it would not be
considered to have a target (because it does
not include the word "choose.")
If you do not have a valid target for the
character ability, you may not trigger its
effects. Not all character abilities have a target.

there is no printed text on duplicates, I suppose that means the word ''choose'' is out of it ?

Oh I see what you mean.

The word choose is not in the gained text from dupes. The core rules have the exact text but I don't have them in hand to quote it(plus its a pain the balls to do it from a smart phone!).

Vyman's cancel ability has 2 requirements:

  1. a triggered effect
  2. a single target, which must be a Stark character

Duplicate save fulfills #1 (it's a save Response), but not #2 (it has no target). Westeros Bleeds is the same (it is a Dominance action with no target). Valar Morghulis fails on both counts (its effect is passive and it has no target).

Robby Stark said:

this is vyman : http://www.cardgamedb.com/forums/uploads/1281901976/med_gallery_21_220089.jpg

heres the situation: we both have vyman in play, and his vyman has a duplicate and mine doesnt. he plays valar, and obviouly what I want to do is cancel his vyman duplicate with my vyman ability be fore my vyman dies. does that work? it's the word ''only target'' that bugs me.

heres another situation where the word ''target'' is ambiguous. lets say vyman is the last man alive. he is alone on the board when they play westeros bleeds. can vyman save himself?

Man these are some wordy answers, lol.

heres the situation: we both have vyman in play, and his vyman has a duplicate and mine doesnt. he plays valar, and obviouly what I want to do is cancel his vyman duplicate with my vyman ability be fore my vyman dies. does that work?

No. The save effect a character gains from a duplicate does not target the character that has gained it.

heres another situation where the word ''target'' is ambiguous. lets say vyman is the last man alive. he is alone on the board when they play westeros bleeds. can vyman save himself?

No. Your choice of the word save is also, technically inaccurate. It is that he can not cancel Westeros Bleeds.

Probably already had the answers, but this seemed more succinct to me.