When can you spend a focus token?

By nimdabew, in X-Wing Rules Questions

There was a rules question in the last regional tournament I went to. Garven had a focus token and no one was in his firing arc. Can Garven discard the focus token without modifying dice and then give that token to another ship in range 1-2?

I cannot find in the rule book where he can discard the token to give to someone else when the owning player chooses to, nor a place that says you have to modify an <eye> to give the token to another ship.

nimdabew said:

There was a rules question in the last regional tournament I went to. Garven had a focus token and no one was in his firing arc. Can Garven discard the focus token without modifying dice and then give that token to another ship in range 1-2?

I cannot find in the rule book where he can discard the token to give to someone else when the owning player chooses to, nor a place that says you have to modify an to give the token to another ship.

dbmeboy said:

nimdabew said:

There was a rules question in the last regional tournament I went to. Garven had a focus token and no one was in his firing arc. Can Garven discard the focus token without modifying dice and then give that token to another ship in range 1-2?

I cannot find in the rule book where he can discard the token to give to someone else when the owning player chooses to, nor a place that says you have to modify an to give the token to another ship.

You can discard the focus token any time you are attacking or defending from an attack (even if you didn't roll any focus results).

ATTACKING: Garven has to be able to attack to spend his focus token. If no one is in his firing arc he cannot attack, and therefore cannot spend his focus token to pass it along.

Special Case: If Garven happens to be dealt the Blinded Pilot card ("The next time you attack, do not roll any attack dice") he can spend the focus and pass it along. He still has to be able to make an attack for this to happen.

DEFENDING: If Garven is attacked, he can spend his focus token whether or not an [eyeball] result is rolled (as your post states). So after defending he could pass his token to a lower skill pilot for use.