Orb of knowledge and dragon scales

By Bolithio, in Talisman Rules Questions

Can it be used with the dragon decks?

Bolithio said:

Can it be used with the dragon decks?

No. Check Dragon Rulebook, page 16:

Special Abilities Involving Dragon Cards
Special abilities and effects that apply to Adventure Cards also
apply to Dragon Cards but only after they have been drawn
and placed on the board.

There's an example with the Prophetess and the Orb of Knowledge is exactly the same.

It was a curious decision to limit the use of abilities affecting Adventure cards on Dragon cards, with the exception of faceup cards. Philosopher can discard a faceup Dragon card to replace it, but Prophetess can't discard a card and draw a replacement.

Indeed it was a curious decision! The ruling goes against existing rules & special abilities for no apparent reason whatsoever. The Prophetess can use her ability on Adventure Cards, Dungeon Cards, Highland Cards, & City Cards. I see no reason why she shouldn't be allowed to use her ability on Dragon Cards! We allow it in our games….

Ell.