PTL timing

By jetsetter, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Quick question…so my pilot (PS4) has PTL, not stressed…he does his action (focus--just because), then the opponent say PS5+ moves, takes his action of focus. So this concludes the activation phase, before combat, can I PTL to boost or barrel roll (to get out of his arc or to get a better range measurement).

Just asking because the text on PTL states "once per round".

Or would this break the game mechanics for PTL?

It says "once per round, after you perform an action" I take that to mean immediatly after, so either on his activation or if someone with Squad leader or Lando's pilot ability gives him a freebie he could choose to double up then. But not any time he feels like it.

Agreed with Vonpenguin.

Once per round, after you perform an action, you may…

"Once per round" is a limitation on how often you can use the card.

"after you perform an action" is the triggering requirement that tells you when you can use it.

All triggereded abilities are performed immediately once their conditions are met. The use of "immediately" in some text clouds this a bit, but explicit use of "immediately" just means that that effect will go before others that might trigger at the same time.

I discussed this with some people…and we came to the same agreement. It also works with Turr's ability…to allow him to PTL after his attack.

If you want to cause the PTL trigger to occur after the other pilot moves - you can consider giving another ship with a higher pilot skill the squad leader talent - this action will trigger ptl - so you'd end up with 3 actions - (so you could skip ptl and just use suqad leader)

"Once per round" is simply a limit placed so that you cannot make it an infinite loop. Generally, the "after you do X" wording means you must perform the followup action immediately, and cannot hold it until later in the round. In the case of PTL, you perform an action (whether it is in your action phase, given by Squad Leader or Lando, or by any other means) and then you get to immediately perform another action listed in your action bar. You cannot use it for Marksmanship or an Astromech ability, for example.

ziggy2000 said:

"Once per round" is simply a limit placed so that you cannot make it an infinite loop.

Not necessarily. For everyone other than Tycho, the stress from PTL would prevent any further actions. For Tycho, it obviously stops a PTL action triggering another use of PTL, but it also prevents other additional actions from allowing extra use from PTL. I believe Tycho is the only one at issue here, but any other action transferral (Squad Leader, Lando) would let him take 4 actions without that limitation.

Buhallin said:

ziggy2000 said:

"Once per round" is simply a limit placed so that you cannot make it an infinite loop.

Not necessarily. For everyone other than Tycho, the stress from PTL would prevent any further actions. For Tycho, it obviously stops a PTL action triggering another use of PTL, but it also prevents other additional actions from allowing extra use from PTL. I believe Tycho is the only one at issue here, but any other action transferral (Squad Leader, Lando) would let him take 4 actions without that limitation.

Yeah, I was thinking specifically about Tycho when I wrote that but didn't say so. Another late nite brain fart er, senior moment.