Did they ever rule on

By chiller087, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

Whether Boba Fett will capture a Guardian of Peace if the Guardian uses its Protect trait to absorb damage from another character?

Micah

Yes it will be captured assuming it doesn't die.

Toqtamish said:

Yes it will be captured assuming it doesn't die.

Wouldn't it still be captured, even if it was enough damage to kill it?

it's a reaction so it wouldn't stop them from going to discard- also it's optional

shaggscoob said:

Toqtamish said:

Yes it will be captured assuming it doesn't die.

Wouldn't it still be captured, even if it was enough damage to kill it?

dbmeboy said:
shaggscoob said:

Toqtamish said:

Yes it will be captured assuming it doesn't die.

Wouldn't it still be captured, even if it was enough damage to kill it?

Nope, they are destroyed immediately when they have enough damage to kill them, which happens before you can use reactions to damaging them.

Honestly, I think I may have been the one to get the rules response on it, I'll look through my inbox and see if I have it (at least the destroyed before captured part). Do you need an official ruling on that part though?

It's in the FAQ:

If I damage an opponent’s unit with (Core 0019) and deal enough damage to destroy the unit, do I capture or destroy the unit?
The unit is destroyed. Boba Fett’s ability is a reaction that captures a unit. The damage from the combat icons is applied to the unit and that unit is immediately discarded if it has damage equal to or greater than its damage capacity. You may not capture units from an out of play state (such as the discard pile) unless specifically noted otherwise by a card effect.

Thanks, I guess I missed that FAQ entry. That clarifies it nicely.