Overlapping Questions?

By eagletsi111, in X-Wing Rules Questions

I have had this played many ways, I'm trying to find out the correct one.

Example 1: Empire TIE Moves before X-wing and over laps him. So the empire TIe cannot shot him. But if the X-wing does a 4 K-turn, and now has the Tie in his sights can he shoot him? So players I play with say yes, others no.

Exampe 2: Xwing moves and has vader in his sights, vader moves in front of Xwing, but chooses to Barrel Roll into Xwing, Can Xwing shoot vader or is this a valid tactic?

I always assumed only the playing moving cannot target the other player, not that both players cannot target each other.

Help just trying to understand.

Is there any clarification?

eagletsi111 said:

I have had this played many ways, I'm trying to find out the correct one.

Example 1: Empire TIE Moves before X-wing and over laps him. So the empire TIe cannot shot him. But if the X-wing does a 4 K-turn, and now has the Tie in his sights can he shoot him? So players I play with say yes, others no.

Exampe 2: Xwing moves and has vader in his sights, vader moves in front of Xwing, but chooses to Barrel Roll into Xwing, Can Xwing shoot vader or is this a valid tactic?

I always assumed only the playing moving cannot target the other player, not that both players cannot target each other.

Help just trying to understand.

Is there any clarification?

Example 1: If they are no longer touching, they can both shoot eachother. Granted from your description it seems unlikely that the TIE would have the X-Wing in its firing arc, but if it did that TIE could shoot the X-Wing.

Example 2: You cannot barrel roll if it would cause you to overlap. However, if Vader ended up overlapping the x-wing in some other way, neither could shoot eachother.

dbmeboy said:

eagletsi111 said:

I have had this played many ways, I'm trying to find out the correct one.

Example 1: Empire TIE Moves before X-wing and over laps him. So the empire TIe cannot shot him. But if the X-wing does a 4 K-turn, and now has the Tie in his sights can he shoot him? So players I play with say yes, others no.

Exampe 2: Xwing moves and has vader in his sights, vader moves in front of Xwing, but chooses to Barrel Roll into Xwing, Can Xwing shoot vader or is this a valid tactic?

I always assumed only the playing moving cannot target the other player, not that both players cannot target each other.

Help just trying to understand.

Is there any clarification?

Example 1: If they are no longer touching, they can both shoot eachother. Granted from your description it seems unlikely that the TIE would have the X-Wing in its firing arc, but if it did that TIE could shoot the X-Wing.

ok but do both lose their actions

Example 2: You cannot barrel roll if it would cause you to overlap. However, if Vader ended up overlapping the x-wing in some other way, neither could shoot eachother.

Only the ship that performed the movement that caused the overlap loses their action. If the TIE overlaps the x-wing, it get's no action, if the x-wing moves away and does not overlap anything it get's an action (provided it is not stressed).

Page 17 of the rulebook on the far right describes collisions with ships.

As Cptnhalfbeard said, ships only skip their "perfom actions" step when they overlap during their movement (they are still allowed to perform actions during other times if an ability gives them a free action, eg another ship uses Squad Leader). In your example though, the X-Wing would receive a stress token from its maneuver and be unable to perform actions (stress tokens prevent all actions, including free actions).

great so we have been playing it right.

last question:

If the Xwing moved first and then the tie finished his move on top of him, the tie is moved back to where he is not touching, I know the Tie cannot shoot, but can the X-wing? I would assume so, so he didn't do the over lapping, but I have read since they are in base contact neither can shoot, is that correct?

Thanks,

eagletsi111 said:

great so we have been playing it right.

last question:

If the Xwing moved first and then the tie finished his move on top of him, the tie is moved back to where he is not touching, I know the Tie cannot shoot, but can the X-wing? I would assume so, so he didn't do the over lapping, but I have read since they are in base contact neither can shoot, is that correct?

Thanks,