Running into and out of asteroids

By RAGE1073, in X-Wing Rules Questions

I know that the moment I move into an asteroid I have to roll one die, but yesterday I ran into an unusual situation.

i ran straight into the asteroid and when I moved out, of course my template touched the asteroid, my friend said that I have to roll another die because in the rules it says that whenever your maneuver template overlapped an asteroid you have to roll.

So is this true? And can you post a link to where an official source that clearly says you have to roll again. Thanks

RAGE1073 said:

I know that the moment I move into an asteroid I have to roll one die, but yesterday I ran into an unusual situation.

i ran straight into the asteroid and when I moved out, of course my template touched the asteroid, my friend said that I have to roll another die because in the rules it says that whenever your maneuver template overlapped an asteroid you have to roll.

So is this true? And can you post a link to where an official source that clearly says you have to roll again. Thanks

Your friend is correct. This is explained on pg 2 of the FAQ :

"Q: If a ship’s base overlaps an obstacle during the previous round, is that ship automatically considered overlapping the same obstacle during the next round?
A: No. The ship does not move through or overlap that same obstacle unless the maneuver template it is using or its base after executing the maneuver overlap that obstacle again during the next round."