I've been trying to figure this out using the search function, but to no avail. Can The Iron Throne cancel Newly Made Lord 's ability even though it is passive? The wording suggests it can only cancel triggered abilities, but I was afraid that, because passive abilities are technically triggered when their restrictions are met, this was how the wording on the Throne was meant to be interpreted. I think it's probably pretty clear that I want to use him to get rid of the throne, but fear that it would be able to save itself.
Lannister Iron Throne
No. Even though the wording on passives refers to "triggers" (hence the confusion) it's best to think of them as "initiated". "Triggered abilities" on card text always refer to anything following bolded text (eg Response, Any Phase, etc) that a player *choses* to trigger on a card in play (it's a triggered effect if triggered from out of play, eg Meera Reed).. You can safely use NML to get rid of Lanni Iron Throne.
Yeah, I understand the difference between triggered effects and passives, I just wanted to make sure that when The Iron Throne said "…ability just triggered", it meant a triggered effect. Thanks for the answer.
J_Roel said:
Yeah, I understand the difference between triggered effects and passives, I just wanted to make sure that when The Iron Throne said "…ability just triggered", it meant a triggered effect. Thanks for the answer.
if it didn't, I suspect the text wouldn't include the "just triggered" part. As far as the game language, passives are never "triggered," they just happen.
You're probably right, as the only chance to cancel something is immediately after it's been "triggered"/initiated/whatever word you want, so the extra language would be redundant if it was able to cancel a passive.
Ktom covered this in a recent post. Essentially they have terribly templated "triggered effect". Whenever they refer to something as triggered, it is specifically referring to "triggered effect" unless it would make no sense in the context. So when triggered, just triggered, a triggered, yadda yadda… Ktom may have more to add.
So I need to clear something up here.
In the FAQ, it clearly states that:
Does anyone have excerpts to anything in the FAQ or comments from an FFG official that would contradict why this particular card cannot be used against passive character abilities when they are triggered, such as char-agendas?
The ruling from FFG that the use of "just triggered," etc. in a card's ability refers to "triggered effects" only is so old (2005? - goes back to the CCG card "Trickery" from the Throne of Blades set) that the "comments from an FFG official" have been lost to time - and three reformats of the message boards. It has become an understood part of card interpretation and templating.
Why they have never bothered to add it to the FAQ, I can't say. If you need official word to settle the issue for you, you'll have to write to FFG directly, but the answer is beyond doubt by experienced players. The Lannister Iron Throne cannot cancel passive character abilities because of the use of the word "triggered" in its text.
I appreciate the response.
That is actually the answer I was hoping for. Thank you.
On this same note, how will you know when a card is capable of cancelling a passive effect? I assume that since there is a cancel/save framework event for this step, then it is indeed possible.
Edited by JRinkeI appreciate the response.
That is actually the answer I was hoping for. Thank you.
On this same note, how will you know when a card is capable of cancelling a passive effect? I assume that since there is a cancel/save framework event for this step, then it is indeed possible.
Generally, it will say 'cancel an effect' or "any effect" instead of a triggered effect; examples include Maester Kerwin, Wise Woman, and Island Smuggler.
Edited by -Istaril