Odd rules interaction

By Boris_the_Dwarf, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

I searched around for this and couldn't find an answer.

Can a player sacrifice C3P0 to cancel his or her own event? (Yes, it was actually a relevant play to do so.)

I see no reason why you couldn't. But now I'm intrigued as to what situation would warrant this. Please, do tell.

I was the DS player in this game The Death Star Dial was at 10. Boris needed to commit his Obi Wan to the force to be able to flip the balance token back to the LS. He had Yoda, Jedi in Hiding and C3PO already commited. So he played an event and canceled it with C3PO and and then commited ObiWan to the force.

It's crazy interactions like this that make me love this game :-)

I double checked all the rules- as long as the event was paid for in full this absolutely works. The only issue is that said event card would have to be played in the conflict phase if it was an action.

just Logan said:

I double checked all the rules- as long as the event was paid for in full this absolutely works. The only issue is that said event card would have to be played in the conflict phase if it was an action.

Why would the event have to be played in the Conflict phase? Seems like it could just as easily be played in the deployment phase… or even the refresh or draw phases. It just can't be played in the Force phase as the action window in it is after the force struggle.