Sack vs Asfaloth

By ruchlas, in Rules questions & answers

Hello,

Don't you think that when a hero with Asfaloth attached to it is sacked Asfaloth should be discarded?

Because in the opposite case why cannot Asfaloth do its job? It really looks to work by itself really.

The obvious answer is no it cannot do its part untill attached hero is freed,

It is the logical but do the sack cards really forbid it?

I speak about "We must away ere break of day" but I believe the question is about "Conflict at tha Carrock" also.

No attachments are removed by being sacked. The sack cards do have a text that says "Attached character cannot ready, attack, defend commit to quests, or trigger effects ."

The part about triggering effects is a bit of a grey area, I think. While it obviously means that you can´t activate action or response effects on the character card, passive effects on those would still be active (Dain Ironfoot´s +1 bonus to willpower and attack comes to mind).

Where I´m a bit confused is wether it is implied that you cannot trigger effects on attachments that are attached to a sacked character. If you read it literally then you would still be able to activate attachments (which is how I play it myself) but if that is the intent, I don´t know.

I know that but I am talking about Asfaloth who is a horse and it cannot get into a sack with you like most attachments!

If you want a realistic experience of course!

But the game gives you the chance to keep it and use it right after been unsacked! But if you see it from the other side Asfaloth isn't

a simple horse , is it? He can remain hidden and wait for you!

But in the end I think it is simple. Sacked character is absent until freed. Keep Asfaloth but you can use it after being unsacked.

As for Dain, are we sure that his passive skill works even when he is sacked? Because I tend to include it among effects that cannot be triggered.

But animals in Tolkiens universe have a much keener intellect and would be able to act on their own, even if temporarily deprived of their master. Asfaloth is a living entity and might have been considered an ally card if FFG had chosen that direction. As it is he is attached to a master card to show who he is bound to. That wouldn´t mean that because his master is sacked then his horse is in the sack with him. For this scenario it could just as easily mean that Asfaloth is too fast and cunning to let himself be trapped but will still work for his master´s plans to the best of his ability.

Nerdmeister said:

But animals in Tolkiens universe have a much keener intellect and would be able to act on their own, even if temporarily deprived of their master. Asfaloth is a living entity and might have been considered an ally card if FFG had chosen that direction. As it is he is attached to a master card to show who he is bound to. That wouldn´t mean that because his master is sacked then his horse is in the sack with him. For this scenario it could just as easily mean that Asfaloth is too fast and cunning to let himself be trapped but will still work for his master´s plans to the best of his ability.

To add:

Remember that Asfaloth ride to Rivendell with Frodo (doing nothing) without his master and fleeing from the Nazgul…

PS: I'm refering to the books of course..