Devastator and Imp Officer resource match

By Jedi_Knight, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

This came up during OCTGN discussion.

Does these cards require affiliation matching resource? I am fairly confident that they just require generic resource, since the rules specify such cases only in playing cards, not paying for abilities (as far as I know). As always, any and all answers will be appreciated.

They do not have to match affliations. If an objective is blown up and both are in play you can focus as many available resources as you can, but of course only two can make the dial move.

It just says "resource" and not [imperial Navy] resource. You can see precedent for using the affiliation logo in the text of other cards, like The Emperor's Web saying "…reduce the cost of the first [sith] event card…"

So unless you see that Imperial Navy symbol, or another mention of it specifically, it's all good to take the resource from anything that generates it, even neutral resources like Sith Library (which amazingly, isn't a Sith affiliated resource enchancement).