The Painted Table vs Valar Morghulis

By RavenLord, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

The Painted Table

Type: Location House: Baratheon
Cost: 2
Dragonstone.
House Baratheon only.
Any phase: Kneel The Painted Table to cancel the next effect triggered this phase.

question: if I trigger Painted Table before players choose their plots and one of the reveals Valar, will Painted Table cancel destroying effect?

I'm asking because I think that Triggered effect and effect that triggers is not the same thing,

"Triggered effect" refers to anything with Bold Text ("Challenges:" "Response:" "Any Phase:"), which the controlling player can choose to trigger.

It's not to be confused with a passive, which initiates when its condition is met (eg When Jorah Enters play, or Valar).

In this case, Painted Table does nothing to the Valar… but it will cancel the first save triggered!

RavenLord said:

The Painted Table

Type: Location House: Baratheon
Cost: 2
Dragonstone.
House Baratheon only.
Any phase: Kneel The Painted Table to cancel the next effect triggered this phase.

question: if I trigger Painted Table before players choose their plots and one of the reveals Valar, will Painted Table cancel destroying effect?

I'm asking because I think that Triggered effect and effect that triggers is not the same thing,

SUMMON KTOM!!!

Need explanation. As read, this actually would be the case. It does not say "triggered effect", which is indeed clarified to mean bolded things. It instead says effect triggered. Valar Morghulis's passive effect is triggered when it is revealed. This actually seems to be an accurate assessment of how The Painted Table should interact with Valar.

This is an old, long-settled issue.

"Triggered effect," "effect just triggered," "next effect triggered," etc. All refers to "triggered effects" only. You cannot use a "cancel the next effect triggered" effect to cancel a passive effect.

Thanks for help

ktom said:

This is an old, long-settled issue.

"Triggered effect," "effect just triggered," "next effect triggered," etc. All refers to "triggered effects" only. You cannot use a "cancel the next effect triggered" effect to cancel a passive effect.

not to be a pain, but how does this jive with the City of Spiders text, which reads, "TRIGGER the 'when revealed' EFFECT of any city plot …"?

When the word "trigger" is used as an imperative verb, it can mean "initiate." You'll see it used that way all over the rules document, and that's what you see on City of Spiders.

But when the word "triggered" is used as an adjective, or part of an adjective clause, modifying the word "effect," the effect in question must therefore match the definition of "triggered effect" in the FAQ. That's what you see in phrases like "effect just triggered" and "next effect triggered."

I can get behind that. Thanks