Quentyn Martell char agenda question

By Wolfbrother, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

this may be a dumb question, but heres the thought. each characters gains everything in the quotes, saying quote "Unique martell characters you control gain vengeful. Response: after 1 or more characters stand for vengeful, draw 1 card" now the question is, if each character gains this, do i draw 1 card for each character stood? or is it only one card per vengeful challenge?

because i feel if i stand multiple people i should be able to trigger each response indivisually and thus draw more cards.

Unique Martell characters gain vengeful. Only Quentyn gains the Response.

Wolfbrother said:

because i feel if i stand multiple people i should be able to trigger each response indivisually and thus draw more cards.

Unfortunately for your plans, it does not work this way. This response works similarly to Corpse Lake (After a triggered effect discards 1 or more characters from the top of an opponent's deck, claim 1 power for your House. (Limit 3 times per round.)). Even if you have 3 opponents, and each one discards a character through the same triggered effect at the same time… Frostfang Peaks, Raiding Fleet, etc…. You only get one power for each triggered effect that results in 1 or more characters being discarded this way.

Since all vengeful happens at the same time (being a passive effect)… and the gained agenda text specifies "after 1 or more…," you only get one card draw per vengeful trigger. However, if you want to throw in the "token defense" of character(s) with vengeful, when you know you're gonna lose the challenge anyway, that's more card draw for you when they stand (draw cap at 1 draw per challenge).

Hope this helps.

stormwolf27 said:

Wolfbrother said:

because i feel if i stand multiple people i should be able to trigger each response indivisually and thus draw more cards.

Unfortunately for your plans, it does not work this way. This response works similarly to Corpse Lake (After a triggered effect discards 1 or more characters from the top of an opponent's deck, claim 1 power for your House. (Limit 3 times per round.)). Even if you have 3 opponents, and each one discards a character through the same triggered effect at the same time… Frostfang Peaks, Raiding Fleet, etc…. You only get one power for each triggered effect that results in 1 or more characters being discarded this way.

Since all vengeful happens at the same time (being a passive effect)… and the gained agenda text specifies "after 1 or more…," you only get one card draw per vengeful trigger. However, if you want to throw in the "token defense" of character(s) with vengeful, when you know you're gonna lose the challenge anyway, that's more card draw for you when they stand (draw cap at 1 draw per challenge).

Hope this helps.

Oh, I forgot. One great thing about this char-genda is that, if you're playing in a melee and there's another player with a vengeful character on the board (Martell house, alliance, or just splashing a Martell character), when that opponent's character stands for vengeful, you can trigger your new agenda to draw a card.

this card is worded insanely poorly lol, i thought the characters themselves gained the whole text, not just vengeful. thanks for the clarification, now that butthole in my meta can't lannister iron throne my draw!!

Wolfbrother said:

this card is worded insanely poorly lol, i thought the characters themselves gained the whole text, not just vengeful. thanks for the clarification, now that butthole in my meta can't lannister iron throne my draw!!

He shouldn't have been able to anyway, since the draw is an agenda effect, and vengeful is a passive ability… not triggered, which is what Iron Throne cancels… "a character ability just triggered."

Not to mention these sections of the FAQ, which invalidates that 3 times:

(4.11) Agenda Cards
Agenda cards are not considered to be in play. Further, the effects of an Agenda card cannot be canceled.

(4.20) Character Agendas
A character agenda is any card with the printed character type that, through a card affect, has attached to a player's House card as an agenda. A character agenda cannot attach to a House card if you already have an agenda of any type on your House card. Once attached as an agenda a character agenda loses all other card types and follows all rules regarding agenda cards.

  1. a character who becomes an agenda ceases being a character
  2. agendas are not in play, so their effects are not abilities
  3. agenda effects cannot be canceled

You guys are missing Wolfbrother's point.

They thought that the draw response was gained by the same Martell characters who gained Vengeful. So from their point of view, the draw Response was being triggered as gained character text - i.e., a character ability. They didn't realize they were triggering an agenda effect - or any effect on Quentyn for that matter.

Their mistake wasn't in the way they were playing the Lanni-Iron Throne. It was in how they were playing Quentyn, effectively misunderstanding how he worked completely.

When I first read the misunderstanding, I didn't see how that interpretation was possible. However after reading the text carefully, I can see how having an initial interpretation like that sort of gets stuck in your brain and keeps resurfacing as that interpretation.

thanks ktom and bomb for seeing my point lol, yea this deck just got a lot more viable against my weak match up of lannister :)