Hodor + White Harbor Dromon

By RobotMartini, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

Can Hodor be declared as a naval attacker when given naval enhancements? (despite his normal attack restrictions)

thanks!

Hodor cannot be declared as an attacker. Naval enhancements still use the word "Declare", so Hodor's "Cannot" doesn't permit him to attack, even if he has naval enhancements.

I have another question on White Harbor Dromon: can a Northern Cavalry Flank be declared as a naval attacker thanks to WHD, if the opponent is running an agenda?

I ask because Flank doesn't kneel to attack if an opponent has an agenda and in order to declare a naval attacker you have to kneel the character. And I think I can't decide to kneel the Flank only because it's "convenient"…

thorin_81 said:

I have another question on White Harbor Dromon: can a Northern Cavalry Flank be declared as a naval attacker thanks to WHD, if the opponent is running an agenda?

I ask because Flank doesn't kneel to attack if an opponent has an agenda and in order to declare a naval attacker you have to kneel the character. And I think I can't decide to kneel the Flank only because it's "convenient"…

It can be declared as a naval attacker with WHD, but it must kneel to do so, and you must have already initiated the challenge in question with another character to do so, as the same character may not enter the same challenge twice, and in order for the Flank to count as a naval attacker/defender, it must enter a challenge already in progress through the naval mechanic.

Of course you could use WHD for its other purpose to give your Flank renown and not even worry about the naval mechanic.

General rule for "does not kneel to attack/defend" and Naval (from FAQ, p.25):

Do "does not kneel to attack/defend" count when declaring a Naval attacker or defender?

No. Kneeling is a requirement to use the Naval enhancement to declare an attacker or defender. It would require a separate effect that specifically allowed a character to be declared as a Naval attacker without being knelt.

Does this mean that Flank can't be declared as a naval attacker, unless another effect allows to do so without kneeling?

Or this means that NCF can be declared as a naval attacker, but must be knelt in order to do so?

thorin_81 said:

Does this mean that Flank can't be declared as a naval attacker, unless another effect allows to do so without kneeling?

If they release a new card that can create an effect that allows you to declare naval attackers/defenders without kneeling, then yes.

thorin_81 said:

Or this means that NCF can be declared as a naval attacker, but must be knelt in order to do so?

This is currently the way it needs to be done.

ok, thanks