---------------So what do you, the viewrs at home think
So in short does the FAQ which was published after Danse Macabre was released apply to the ending? leading to the following two questions after the ending was revealed.
With the Ending Danse Macabre in effect:
1. Can the Grim Reaper be sent back to the person on the crown of command if a 5 is rolled on the Grim Reaper chart?
2. Can the person on the Crown of command send the Grim Reaper to another character in the inner region ?
Danse Macabre (2008):
Whenever a character rolls on the Grim Reapers Chart, he must subtract one from the result (to a minimum of 1).
When the Grim Reaper lands on your character, you must roll 1 die:
My opinion: The information in the FAQ applies to the normal rules of the game.
Danse Macabre specifically states that you MUST send the reaper to ANY character in ANY region. The inner region IS a region.
A character on the Crown of Command would encounter the ending card and follow the text of the card specifically, which is a special card and endign cards MAY, CAN, and DO violate the normal rules of the game with their special effects. THe character on the crown could then send the reaper to any character in any region, including the inner region, as specifically stated on the card. However when a character in the inner region receives the 'there has been a mistake result' he cannot send the reaper back to the crown of command or a character in the inner region, because at this point he is abiding by the normal rules of the game and not following the special text on the ending card, while a character on the crown of command encountering the ending card on his turn would be.
Whoa….. tldr
LordZoma said:
My opinion: The information in the FAQ applies to the normal rules of the game.
Danse Macabre specifically states that you MUST send the reaper to ANY character in ANY region. The inner region IS a region.
A character on the Crown of Command would encounter the ending card and follow the text of the card specifically, which is a special card and endign cards MAY, CAN, and DO violate the normal rules of the game with their special effects. THe character on the crown could then send the reaper to any character in any region, including the inner region, as specifically stated on the card. However when a character in the inner region receives the 'there has been a mistake result' he cannot send the reaper back to the crown of command or a character in the inner region, because at this point he is abiding by the normal rules of the game and not following the special text on the ending card, while a character on the crown of command encountering the ending card on his turn would be.
It might have been advisable to post a simple question, without throwing in a whole Messenger/chat thread which is barely understandable, because you can't distinguish the various voices speaking. Not that it matters too much though, as you summarized everything well.
IS there a problem with Danse Macabre and Grim Reaper movement in the Inner Region? So far as I understand the rule principles that we received from the base rulebook and their application to this bonus material, I don't see problems. But there IS a problem, because issues were clarified in bits and the whole picture was never officially put together. Still, the whole picture won't be acceptable for rules-lawyers around
I'm not officially entitled to give answers, but I'll jumpf in this discussion at my own risk.
Premises
Q: Do normal rules allow for Grim Reaper to be moved into the Inner Region?
Even though the Grim Reaper Rulesheet gave the rule in the form of flavour text " the Grim Reaper will not cross the Portal of Power, as he is already present in the Inner Region ", it is clear that the intent was keeping him away from that Region entirely. Some things in games are limited, because with no limits things get out of control.
Basic mechanic of the Reaper is: when you roll a 1 for your move, you may move the Reaper by rolling 1 die at the end of your turn.
In the Inner Region, you don't roll a die for your move. With Dragon Tower, things get even more complicated because movement is increased by defeated Enemies and takes place at the end of the turn.
Q: Why should the Reaper figure not be allowed in the Inner Region?
1) How would you move the Reaper in the Inner Region? Will you move it like characters? Will you roll the die regardless of normal movement rules? Why should the Reaper break normal movement rules in the Inner Region while he doesn't in any other Region?
2) Characters in the Inner Region don't roll a die for movement and can't move the Reaper away from them. Is it fair that characters outside the Inner Region can move the Reaper to characters in the Inner Region, and not viceversa?
3) What if the Reaper comes to the Crown of Command? Does he stay on the space and automatically encounter characters every turn? Or every time a character rolls a 1 for his move? If he should move one space per turn and he may leave the Crown at will, could he be moved back and forth and land repeatedly on a character on the Crown? If he rolls the die, does he stop on the Crown and may not move further?
4) What if a character rolls a 6 on the Reaper chart in the Inner Region? May he teleport to the Crown?
5) In the Dragon Tower, does the Reaper move one space per turn, roll the die regardless of any movement rule, or does he draw Dragon cards and fight Enemies
?
Some players like Death to be an omnipotent being overriding all normal rules at leisure, but unfortunaly the Reaper in Talisman is moved by players, not by her own will.
As a general idea to limit game problems, the Grim Reaper should FOLLOW RULES.
Of course there's a house rule solution to all possible problems. If you bother to find it out, you'll be fine with your game.
I play with 100% Rules As Written, not because I like every rule, but to have minimum rule debate during play. The Reaper Rulesheet was written in a literary form, but I think it's quite clear in saying that Reaper in the Inner Region should not be allowed. Above there's a bunch of reasons, you evaluate if they're good or not.
Danse Macabre
Q: Does Danse Macabre override normal Grim Reaper movement rules (from Rulesheet and FAQ)?
There's a section in Talisman Base Rulebook that's called "Golden Rules". They should be called Silver, and sometimes Rusty Rules, as their interpretation is ambiguous for most players. Let's recall them:
Special Ability vs. Rules
In any instance where a special ability or effect is at a variance with the basic rules, the special ability or effect always overrides the rules.
According to this Golden Rule, Danse Macabre should actually apply above any standard game rule. But don't stop here and read on:
Can vs. Cannot
In any instance where a card’s effect indicates that a character cannot perform an action or use an ability (such as casting a Spell or using an Object), the character cannot do so. In other words,
the forbidding effects of cards override other abilities and effects
. For example, if a card indicates that no Weapons can be used when fighting a certain creature, the Warrior may not use any Weapons, despite his ability that allows him to use two Weapons at the same time.
I added emphasis to the "real" Golden rule, as the remaining part of the paragraph is a series of examples, not the general rule.
What's the rules-lawyer counter-argument here? That according to this paragraph, restrictions given on cards (and on cards only) always trump effects of other cards. So, applying the Special Ability vs. Rules concept, if a restriction is stated in the rules or FAQ, then it shall be ignored as a card that allows a variance should prevail over the rule.
Rules that forbid things are vital to games. If something is forbidden, it shall stay so, because there were good reasons to do it.
Can vs. Cannot rule is Golden, not Rusty, so it shall be applied as a general principle over all game components, with no need to make a thorough source screening every time. It doesn't work well if it was intended to be so, as players can't bear in mind if a rule was given on a sheet or a card. New cards and effects shall be designed remembering what has been forbidden in the past, or get around it in a clear way.
Danse Macabre is a bonus Alternative Ending and might contain oversights that nobody cared to clarify. I would say that you shouldn't read the Ending as allowing the Reaper in Inner Region. It obviously FORGOT TO DISALLOW this. The creator of this Ending probably thought that the given Rules were already preventing this, but they aren't, not literally. Unfortunately, you cannot allow the Reaper in the Inner Region without bringing the overall balance and gameplay out of control.
In absence of a complete and official clarification, choice is yours. No need to start arguments like the one you pasted above.
Without getting into the technicalities of the argument coudn't you just have the player that rolls a 5 send the grim reaper to another player or the person on the crown of command space could just select another player to send death to , then if by some chance they all roll a 5 it goes back to original choice.
the Grim Reaper should absolutely be allowed to land on players in the inner region during the dance macabre ending the player who is on the crown of command has to sit there and wait until either people are dead or someone else reaches the crown. If its the dragon tower ending and you reach the crown and another player is in the dragon tower the player on the crown automatically loses if you can't send the Reaper to the player in the tower because the player in the tower can level forever until their strength is higher than the person on the crown. following the golden rule as you described warlock the card and its text takes precedence and allows the Reaper to go to the inner region even though normal rules would dictate that it cannot go there.
LordZoma said:
Disallowing Grim Reaper in the Inner Region includes disallowing characters to send the Reaper to the Character on the Crown, which is more than appropriate if you want him to be favoured somehow.
Moreover, the Danse Macabre has a section dedicated to more characters on the Crown of Command at the same time. Will it be possible if you could send the Reaper at least 5 times to a character ascending to the Crown? Not that much when you have 33,3% chance of getting killed every turn.
The Dragon Tower example is possible (even though the opponent won't level "forever"), but I won't recommend playing with Danse Macabre ending if you use Dragon Tower. Besides the fact that on the Dragon Tower top you should "Confront the Dragon King!", you can mix game components as you wish, using all expansions together in a colourful mess where you fight your way up to the top of a Dragon Tower to find that the Thieves' Guild was behind it. But if you like to mix everything without thinking about what you're doing, then you should be more relaxed when you're arguing about rules. Precision in rules applications requires proper game organisation from the players' side too.
LordZoma said:
The end result is this, the combination of Rules and card text allows what you say. But if you bothered reading my overly long post you might have seen that there are too many reasons why the Reaper shall not get in the Inner Region. It generates PROBLEMS.
It's the Danse Macabre Ending that's wrong, not the rest of the game. I'm no FFG employee or blind fanboy, I can say that without hesitation. Considering it's a Bonus Ending, the best way is to fix the Ending, not to add other FAQs and clarifications.
So in other words, according to the strictest interpretation of the rules, I am correct.
The Danse Macabre ending card allows the person on the crown of command to send the reaper to ANY character in ANY region, and if another player receives the 'There has been a mistake" result, they cannot send the reaper back to the person on the crown of command, as they are restricted by normal rules and are not specifically instructed to send the reaper to any character in any region.
Insofar as your personal opinion on the matter, I partially disagree. Obviously according to the normal rules, if a person could roll a '1' and send the reaper into the inner region, it would damage game balance. The person in the inner region or on the crown of command has already proven himself, and to be targeted or damaged by the reaper makes it too easy for a person in a much weaker position to influence the more adfvanced character.
However, when applied to the Danse Macabre, it is essential to follow the text of the card, otherwise the ending will often result in a stalemate.
Example: BOB reaches the crown of command with a strength of 50. He sends the reaper out over the course of a few turns, and kills all the characters but AMY who manages to make it into the dragon tower. AMY has a strength of 6 and a bunch of dragon scales. Even if AMY can make it to the crown of command, she will not be able to defeat BOB in PVP, so she advances through the dragon tower, then retreats, then advances, then retreats. By the time she is close to reaching the crown her strength is now 75. BOB needs to retreat now too! Otherwise he'll lose. So he retreats and runs circles in the dragon tower. This situation only occurs if the Danse Macabre is not able to be performed as specifically written on the card. Instead of the card poking at other players every turn in similar fashion to the command spell or the crown and sceptre ending, once two players enter the dragon tower region, the game is a DRAW unless players happen to get unlucky and die to bad draws in the tower, or if one of the players is a spell caster and he infinitely cycles his spells until he kills by spell. Clearly in this example, creating any sort of 'house rule' to disallow the normal specifically stated function of danse macabre, breaks the game, and defeats the point of the ending.
LordZoma said:
Yes, your interpretation IS correct. It's not a strict interpretation, but the application of Rules As Written. I think that rules should have a different spirit and not lead to ambiguous situations like this; or even better, new game components can be a little bit less amazing and little bit less flawed.
LordZoma said:
Still, I was trying to point out that moving the Reaper in the Inner Region generates problems. If the character on the Crown sends him to a character in the Inner Region, then the Reaper is in the Inner Region. If another character outside the Region rolls a '1' for movement at this point, what happens then ?
That's my point, nothing else.
LordZoma said:
This is possible with the Dragon Tower, but I don't think it would be possible with other endings, including standard Crown of Command. In normal game, a character needs to stay in other Regions to improve and is always vulnerable to the Reaper. If he can blitz to the Crown and kill the character that was controlling the Reaper before, that's part of normal game mechanics.
Grim can never enter.. Move to… Move in the inner region… The end.
Good God.
""It obviously FORGOT TO DISALLOW this..""
I have rule lawayers in my group (sometimes me). We play with 4-6 people every week, this game and others. One of the patterns I see is people using logic from other games to interpret another game. This can help explain some weird interpretations people come up with. Also, because there are so many different games, eventually, if you play a lot they start to blend together and you see all kinds of ways to question things (especially munchkin style games). Its not all bad – we should always be questioning our reality – but keep the arguments swift. And only argue about reasonable, actual problems. Warlock is right about golden rules and more so “the spirit” of the game”.
Hehe just realised "Danse Macabre" was a additional made card not from any set. Never play with it :0.
I suggest you release this ranting monologue as a horror short story. It's ranting and maniacal enough that anyone from an outside perspective could easily enjoy it as a work of horror "fiction", with vague and horrible insinuations to a game of Death, a.k.a. "the Danse Macabre", much like Final Destination. It would certainly be a hit among the creepypasta community, I think. =P