enslaved versus frozen solid

By Robby Stark, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

Robby Stark said:

this is enslaved: http://www.cardgamedb.com/forums/uploads/got/med_enslaved-thobaw.jpg

this is frozen solid: http://www.cardgamedb.com/forums/uploads/1281117521/med_gallery_1_6_155310.jpg

lets say the lannisters play enslaved on my main man jojen. can I get him back with frozen solid?

Yep (assuming of course you're freezing the Enslaved). You're blanking the attachment giving control to your opponent, thereby ending the effect, and by the rules, when that effect ends, the character reverts back to its owner's control.

i have a problem understanding this. lets look at reek http://www.cardgamedb.com/forums/uploads/1287540757/med_gallery_66_158787.jpg

reek says: take control of.

enslaved says: take control of.

i dont see the difference. why does the ''take control'' of reek doesn't end when reek is discarded but the ''take control'' of enslaved ends? ''take control'' seems like a ponctual effect. it doesn't say ''while enslaved is attached''

Robby Stark said:

i have a problem understanding this. lets look at reek http://www.cardgamedb.com/forums/uploads/1287540757/med_gallery_66_158787.jpg

reek says: take control of.

enslaved says: take control of.

i dont see the difference. why does the ''take control'' of reek doesn't end when reek is discarded but the ''take control'' of enslaved ends? ''take control'' seems like a ponctual effect. it doesn't say ''while enslaved is attached''

The "while Enslaved is attached" is an implied text. Anything that is granted by an attachment is only relevant while the attachment is attached and its text is relevant. If you have Gutter Rat's cunning: http://www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/GoTCards.html/_/core-set/gutter-rats-cunning-core attached to your Lannister character, and someone blanks it with Frozen Solid, does the character still have +2 STR and stealth?

From FAQ 4.0, section 3.28(Duration of control Change), pg. 10:

Unless otherwise stated (for example, with a
specified duration), the change of control is
permanent until the card that switched sides
leaves play or control of the card switches
again via a card effect.
Note that attachments that grant control effects
end when the attachment granting control leaves play.

Leaving play and having its text blanked is essentially the same as far as the rules are concerned.

This came up in one of my matches at The Moonboy. I Enslaved his Guard at Riverrun (IIRC), he later put Frozen Solid on my Enslaved and took it back (because the attachment was what gave me control). A couple of turns later I discarded his Frozen Solid and took the character back (I still controlled the attachment) and then got my 15th power by doing a challenge against him with his own character.

stormwolf27 said:

Robby Stark said:

i have a problem understanding this. lets look at reek http://www.cardgamedb.com/forums/uploads/1287540757/med_gallery_66_158787.jpg

reek says: take control of.

enslaved says: take control of.

i dont see the difference. why does the ''take control'' of reek doesn't end when reek is discarded but the ''take control'' of enslaved ends? ''take control'' seems like a ponctual effect. it doesn't say ''while enslaved is attached''

The "while Enslaved is attached" is an implied text. Anything that is granted by an attachment is only relevant while the attachment is attached and its text is relevant. If you have Gutter Rat's cunning: http://www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/GoTCards.html/_/core-set/gutter-rats-cunning-core attached to your Lannister character, and someone blanks it with Frozen Solid, does the character still have +2 STR and stealth?

From FAQ 4.0, section 3.28(Duration of control Change), pg. 10:

Unless otherwise stated (for example, with a
specified duration), the change of control is
permanent until the card that switched sides
leaves play or control of the card switches
again via a card effect.
Note that attachments that grant control effects
end when the attachment granting control leaves play.

Leaving play and having its text blanked is essentially the same as far as the rules are concerned.

Enslaved, on the other hand, is a continuous effect. That means it is only valid for as long as the card creating it is in play and its text is active. So when the card (or its text) leaves play, the contnuous effect ends.

It's the same difference between as the Response on Dragon Knight giving a character -1 STR until the end of the phase (except that Reek doesn't have the "end of the phase" bit) and Flame Kissed giving -2 only while it is in play and active.