Barrel Roll over Obsticles?

By Black Abbot, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Is this possible? To make a Barrel Roll over an obsticle? I've read somewhere it is possible, but don't think it was this forum. I would like an official answer.

Many thanks!

As Zig said, there is no official answer. But the rules seem pretty clear that you can boost or barrel roll through an obstacle or mine without consequence, so long as your end position doesn't cause an overlap with an obstacle or ship.

It certainly doesn't seem right, but thems the breaks for now.

paradox23 said:

It certainly doesn't seem right, but thems the breaks for now.

LOL! Maybe, but I imagine that in real dogfighting, a good (crazy even) pilot could in fact barrell roll over something like an asteroid.

Anyways, thanks for the replies.

So it may not be in the letter of the law but in the spirit of it. I would say that if they make you roll a die crossing an obsticle, then it shouldn't matter if you traveled forward, backwards, or sideways.

Ozmodon65 said:

So it may not be in the letter of the law but in the spirit of it. I would say that if they make you roll a die crossing an obsticle, then it shouldn't matter if you traveled forward, backwards, or sideways.

I think most of us agree that the rules probably should work that way. Unfortunately, they don't until the time if/when FFG decides to change them.

I think it also helps to abstract the idea of the barrel roll and the boost a little bit, it's very easy to imagine moving forward, and then barrel rolling to the right - because that's how we move the miniature, but more likely the barrel roll (and all the actions really) are happening while the ship is in motion, so barrel rolling to the right (across an asteroid) would be more like barrel rolling to the right on the approach to the asteroid, with the finished position not hitting the asteroid.

- The boost is the weirder one to abstract, because it appears that you're going through the asteroid, which, you'd have to roll for if it were a straight maneuver, but if you imagine that you can pull out of the 2d plane more easily with the boost, and that you're really going way up and around it - it's not as close a call as the normal moves… In that sense it makes sense that you wouldn't hit the object. It really depends on how you envision the movement.

dbmeboy said:

Ozmodon65 said:

So it may not be in the letter of the law but in the spirit of it. I would say that if they make you roll a die crossing an obsticle, then it shouldn't matter if you traveled forward, backwards, or sideways.

I think most of us agree that the rules probably should work that way. Unfortunately, they don't until the time if/when FFG decides to change them.

Ones a action and the other one is a maneuver, the rules say when moving through which is why you should role and why an action would not.

But it seems sillly that one would in the real world try to barrel roll accross and astroid made of solid rock? wait is an astroid made of rock? still its got to be made of somthing solid.

But still barrel rolling across a mine eventhough its an action and not setting the thing off thats a little bit harder to comprehend.

But its fun

Well, it's a wonky rule… but it's a fairly clearly written wonky rule.

Moving into and through Obstacles

When a ship executes a maneuver in which either the maneuver template or the ship’s base physically overlaps an obstacle token, follow these steps:

1. Execute the maneuver as normal, but skip the “Perform Action” step.

2. The player rolls one attack die. The ship then suffers any damage or critical damage rolled (see “Suffering Damage” on page 16).

important: When overlapping an obstacle token, the ship stays where it lands (on top of the token). A ship that is overlapping an obstacle token during the Combat phase cannot attack any ship but may be targeted by other ships as normal.

Boost:

Performing a boost action does not count as executing a maneuver.

Totally counterintuitive. Leaves the slightest room for arguement. And alas, pretty straight forward if you go by the letter.

paradox23 said:

Moving into and through Obstacles

When a ship executes a maneuver in which either the maneuver template or the ship’s base physically overlaps an obstacle token, follow these steps:

1. Execute the maneuver as normal, but skip the “Perform Action” step.

2. The player rolls one attack die. The ship then suffers any damage or critical damage rolled (see “Suffering Damage” on page 16).

important: When overlapping an obstacle token, the ship stays where it lands (on top of the token). A ship that is overlapping an obstacle token during the Combat phase cannot attack any ship but may be targeted by other ships as normal.

Boost:

Performing a boost action does not count as executing a maneuver.

By this one could argue that you could Boost through an obsticle with no fear of damage since Boost is an Action, not a Maneuver. Interesting.

Black Abbot said:

By this one could argue that you could Boost through an obsticle with no fear of damage since Boost is an Action, not a Maneuver. Interesting.

That's pretty much exactly what that means.

I suppose you could look at the Manuever step interference as it being "in your way" as you're trying to get somewhere else, and if you overlap the asteroid then you just misjudged your trajectory. But if you Boost or Barrel Roll across the asteroid, then you were aiming for the rock and are engaging in fancy flying to use it to your advantage.