Units With No Icons

By dj9091, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

I know I saw a conversation about this elsewhere in the forum, so I apologize for bringing this back up. In an engagement, units are focused when striking. However, if I defend with a unit that has no icons (like repair droid) against an attack with no unit damage icons (in an effort to keep the unopposed bonus from taking place), does my unit still get focused? It doesn't strike in the conventional sense, but it does do the job intended.

If the answer is "focus it", I assume it would require two focus tokens if the unit is committed to the force.

Thanks all!

DJ

Yes every unit in an engagement must be focused to strike if it is ready when its turn in the engagement comes around and yes if it is committed to the Force it requires two Force tokens exactly as it says in the reminder text on the Force cards.

I think what he is asking is if it isn't steriking does it still focus?

Striking is not contingent on having icons to "strike" with.

If a unit is committed to an engagement, attacking or defending, icons or no icons, he/she/it must still "focus to strike" during that step of the engagement. No exceptions.

A follow up question with that…since the unit strikes even with no icons, and is focused out, does the text still apply as any other focused card text would? Or is the text only good when the card is ready. I played this card last night, my opponent played the Emperor and because that was the only unit I had in play, she dropped three tactics icons to the repair droid. Would the text of removing damage from a vehicle unit still apply?

Thanks!!

DJ

dj9091 said:

A follow up question with that…since the unit strikes even with no icons, and is focused out, does the text still apply as any other focused card text would? Or is the text only good when the card is ready. I played this card last night, my opponent played the Emperor and because that was the only unit I had in play, she dropped three tactics icons to the repair droid. Would the text of removing damage from a vehicle unit still apply?

Thanks!!

DJ

Yes you can still use action ability on repair droid.

Unless the card says you have to focus it to use its ability, whether it is a reaction or action ability, you can use it when focused.