Kath Scarlet vs. Shields

By a4rino, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Kath Scarlet's pilot ability reads: "When attacking, the defender receives 1 stress token if he cancels at least one <critical> result."

My question is this: If Kath lands a critical against an opponent with a shield (such that the shield absorbs the critical without resolving a faceup damage card), does that count as a "canceled critical" and does that ship receive a stress token?

My suspicion is that this does not count as a canceled critical, but I want to be sure and I can't find clarification in the FAQ or Rule Book.

On the surface you answered your own question correctly, but there are other factors to consider.

It depends a little (or a lot) on the other dice involved in the combat. Let's say we have a 3-on-3 dice situation. The attacker's final result is [hit] [hit] [crit}. The defender ends up with [evade] [evade] [blank]. In this case the evades cancel the two hits but not the crit, and result in a shield being removed, but Kath's ability does not trigger since no crit result was cancelled.

Now consider this scenario, say the final attack die results are [hit] [crit] [crit] and the agility result is the same [evade] [evade] [blank]. In this case the evades cancel one hit and one crit, allowing the second crit to get through and remove a shield token. This time though, the first crit WAS cancelled, Kath's ability kicks in, and a stress token would be applied.

Hope this helped!

ziggy2000 said:

On the surface you answered your own question correctly, but there are other factors to consider.

It depends a little (or a lot) on the other dice involved in the combat. Let's say we have a 3-on-3 dice situation. The attacker's final result is [hit] [hit] [crit}. The defender ends up with [evade] [evade] [blank]. In this case the evades cancel the two hits but not the crit, and result in a shield being removed, but Kath's ability does not trigger since no crit result was cancelled.

Now consider this scenario, say the final attack die results are [hit] [crit] [crit] and the agility result is the same [evade] [evade] [blank]. In this case the evades cancel one hit and one crit, allowing the second crit to get through and remove a shield token. This time though, the first crit WAS cancelled, Kath's ability kicks in, and a stress token would be applied.

Hope this helped!

Thanks ziggy for the clear response. Very helpful!