Stunned Pilot Damage Card

By paradox23, in X-Wing Rules Questions


We had this question pop up in our tournament today…
When does Stunned Pilot deal damage? When a ship ends its maneuver in an overlap? Or when its maneuver overlaps with a ship or obstacle? Or both?
Some of the rules/text that I found relavent to the matter:
Stunned Pilot:
  • After you execute a maneuver that causes you to overlap either another ship or obstacle token, suffer 1 damage.
Plastic bases overlapping:
If a ship executes a maneuver that would cause the final position of its base to physically overlap another ship’s base (even partially), follow these steps:
  • 1. From the opposite end of the template, move the active ship backward along the top of the template until it no longer overlaps another ship. While moving the ship, adjust it so that the template remains centered between both sets of guides on the ship’s base. Place the ship so that the bases of both ships are touching.
  • 2. Skip this ship’s “Perform Action” step.
Moving into and through obstacles:
When a ship executes a maneuver in which either the maneuver template or the ship’s base physically overlaps an obstacle token, follow these steps:
  • 1. Execute the maneuver as normal, but skip the “Perform Action” step.
  • 2. The player rolls one attack die. The ship then suffers any damage or critical damage rolled (see “Suffering Damage” on page 16).

paradox23 said:


We had this question pop up in our tournament today…
When does Stunned Pilot deal damage? When a ship ends its maneuver in an overlap? Or when its maneuver overlaps with a ship or obstacle? Or both?
Some of the rules/text that I found relavent to the matter:
Stunned Pilot:
  • After you execute a maneuver that causes you to overlap either another ship or obstacle token, suffer 1 damage.
Plastic bases overlapping:
If a ship executes a maneuver that would cause the final position of its base to physically overlap another ship’s base (even partially), follow these steps:
  • 1. From the opposite end of the template, move the active ship backward along the top of the template until it no longer overlaps another ship. While moving the ship, adjust it so that the template remains centered between both sets of guides on the ship’s base. Place the ship so that the bases of both ships are touching.
  • 2. Skip this ship’s “Perform Action” step.
Moving into and through obstacles:
When a ship executes a maneuver in which either the maneuver template or the ship’s base physically overlaps an obstacle token, follow these steps:
  • 1. Execute the maneuver as normal, but skip the “Perform Action” step.
  • 2. The player rolls one attack die. The ship then suffers any damage or critical damage rolled (see “Suffering Damage” on page 16).

IYou refers to the ship, so it would be after a manuver that causes the ships base to overlap another ship or obstacle. So you'd take the damage after reach your final position. It doesn't mention the ships movement template so moving through a ship or obstacle wouldn't apply. In my take of it.

I seem to remember an earlier thread on this somewhere. I agree with Scottie's take, if the template crosses an obstacle but the ship base does not end overlapping, you will not take damage from Stunned Pilot. However, you will still skip your action phase and have to roll for possible damage, as per the obstacle rules on page 20.

So if your ship DOES end up overlapping the obstacle at the end of movement, you'll skip your action phase, roll for possible damage as per the rules cited above, AND take one damage from Stunned Pilot, making it possible to receive a total of two damage. In addition you will not be able to attack later in the round, unless you manage to move off the obstacle before the Combat phase (via a boost/barrell roll given by Squad Leader, for example, provided you do not have a stress token).

If you overlap another ship and have to move back, you'll be getting Stunned Pilot damage no matter what.

At least I think that's how it works, correct me if I'm wrong… destellos