Effects on Cards Not in Play

By AerysII, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

Are effects on cards in out of play zones type-less or are they the same type as their card. That is, if I have a Theon Greyjoy (WLL) in my dead pile and I trigger his Response, is it a Character Ability that could be canceled with The Iron Throne (LotR)?

The rules knowledgeable people in my playgroup are swearing up and down that they are type-less effects and that it is or was in the rules/faq at some point but I can't find it for the life of me (other than the thing about cards in Shadows not having characteristics).

Thanks!

AerysII said:

Are effects on cards in out of play zones type-less or are they the same type as their card. That is, if I have a Theon Greyjoy (WLL) in my dead pile and I trigger his Response, is it a Character Ability that could be canceled with The Iron Throne (LotR)?

That said, you cannot cancel Theon with The Iron Throne. But that's not because he is "type-less" and therefore not a character ability, but rather because since it is triggered from out of play, it is not a character ability .

The entry in the FAQ you're looking for is this:

(3.6) Triggered Effects

Any effect that a player chooses to execute is considered a "triggered effect." Thus any effect that begins with a " Phase: " or " Response: " is a triggered effect. Also note that playing an event card is thus considered a triggered effect. A "triggered ability" is a triggered effect printed on a card already in play.

So you see? When you trigger Theon's Response while he is in the dead pile, you are triggering a character effect , not a character ability. The Iron Thron cancels character abilities , so Theon's Response does not meet the definition.

AerysII said:

The rules knowledgeable people in my playgroup are swearing up and down that they are type-less effects and that it is or was in the rules/faq at some point but I can't find it for the life of me (other than the thing about cards in Shadows not having characteristics).

"…

The rules knowledgeable people in my playgroup are swearing up and down that they are type-less effects and that it is or was in the rules/faq at some point but I can't find it for the life of me (other than the thing about cards in Shadows not having characteristics).

Thanks!"

They are type-less in that they are simply considered "card effects". They are not character abilities, location abilities, or any other type of ability if they are initiated from out-of-play.

Edit: Forgot to answer the question!

You wouldn't be able to cancel Theon's ability that was initiated from the dead pile with The Iron Throne.

Also, why does editting a post mess up the quotes… so annoying…

mdc273 said:

They are type-less in that they are simply considered "card effects". They are not character abilities, location abilities, or any other type of ability if they are initiated from out-of-play.
are

Cards are still considered to have their printed type when they are not in play. That carries ove to their effects, too. The "in-play" vs. "out-of-play" difference is between "ability" and "effect," not "character" and "card."

Ah, I didn't realize there was a difference between abilites and effects. Thanks!

AerysII said:

Ah, I didn't realize there was a difference between abilites and effects. Thanks!

You'll learn something new here quite often. I ask a lot of stupid questions, but they allow me to better explain things to people who ask, haha. I feel bad for Ktom, he needs a backup or something.