Gust of Wind + counterspell question

By Qayin, in Talisman Rules Questions

gust of wind says "That character must roll 1 die for each of his Objects"

does that include megic objects?

also small question about counterspell

when someone is at the crown of command, i can use Counterspell to disable his spell. - but do i have to state "using counterspell" BEFORE he rolls his die? or can i wait to see if he succeds or fails?

also about "one of his objects"

same question, when i cast "Shatter" on someone, does that mean their megic objects as well?

"Both Objects and Magic Objects are classed as Objects." (p. 12)

And Counterspell has to be cast before the die is rolled.