chewbacca co-pilot question

By swampthing2, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Hi, i did try to find this question asked here but no luck.

What is the order in which chewie's effect can take place, i will give you an example of a situation and how i would like to interpret it.

Han is flying the Falcon with Chewie as co-pilot and they only have one shield left. An interceptor fires and scores 2 hits and a crit.

the Falcon fails to evade any and so takes the first hit on the shield, then after fecieving the next dmg card the player immediately discards the Chewie co pilot card to discard that dmg card, regain a shield and then negate the crit.

can this happen?

i guess main question is can you use chewie mid dmg as there are many other scenarios possible

Chewie says "When you are dealt a damage card", and damage cards are dealt one at a time, so I see no reason why you could not do this. You could also wait until the crit is dealt, then discard it and get the shield. End result, you'd have one damage and one shield. Your result would leave no damage and no shield. I usually save Chewie until a crit shows up, especially one that would really hurt.