Push the Limit + Squad Leader

By paradox23, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Just trying to make sure I haven't missed any rules minutia in this:

Push the Limit

Once per round, after you perform an action, you may perform 1 free action shown in your action bar. Then receive 1 stress token.

Am I correct in interpreting that Push the Limit can be triggered by the Free action granted from Squad Leader?

Example:

  • Maarek performs his maneuver, ending up in a position where Wedge may or may not appear in his crosshairs soon. He's not sure if he'll be able to target him later this turn but decides to hedge his bets and takes a focus action.
  • Wedge moves and is just a touch outside of Maarek's range and/or firing arc.
  • Vader takes his maneuver and action, then using Squad Leader to give Maarek an action.
  • Maarek takes a free barrel roll action to position himself where he target Wedge with his missile and then triggers PtL to take a target lock action.

paradox23 said:

Just trying to make sure I haven't missed any rules minutia in this:

Push the Limit

Once per round, after you perform an action, you may perform 1 free action shown in your action bar. Then receive 1 stress token.

Am I correct in interpreting that Push the Limit can be triggered by the Free action granted from Squad Leader?

Example:

  • Maarek performs his maneuver, ending up in a position where Wedge may or may not appear in his crosshairs soon. He's not sure if he'll be able to target him later this turn but decides to hedge his bets and takes a focus action.
  • Wedge moves and is just a touch outside of Maarek's range and/or firing arc.
  • Vader takes his maneuver and action, then using Squad Leader to give Maarek an action.
  • Maarek takes a free barrel roll action to position himself where he target Wedge with his missile and then triggers PtL to take a target lock action.

That works.

And Maarek will be stressed.

Wow.

Turr Phennir could take a 2nd action in the Attack Phase after a boost/barrel roll. That's sorta amazing.

paradox23 said:

Wow.

Turr Phennir could take a 2nd action in the Attack Phase after a boost/barrel roll. That's sorta amazing.

That is correct, though he can still only get 3 total actions this way (his regular action, the boost/barrel roll from his ability, and one final action from PtL). Also note that if he uses PtL after his regular action, he will not be able to take his boost/barrel roll due to being stressed.