target strike an undefended battles

By Rogue 3, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

ok so i have a card with targeted strike. i declare an attack using this unit my opponenet declares no defenders but has at least 1 unit on table. Must my unit target the non defending unit with his blast icons? or can he strike with out targeting units not in battle. Meaning is target strike a passive ability?

Rogue 3 said:

ok so i have a card with targeted strike. i declare an attack using this unit my opponenet declares no defenders but has at least 1 unit on table. Must my unit target the non defending unit with his blast icons? or can he strike with out targeting units not in battle. Meaning is target strike a passive ability?

I'm going to go ahead and submit this one. In general, utilizing combat icons is not optional. What's not clear is whether or not using Targeted Strike is optional…

The rules text for Targeted Strike says "may assign", so I think it's optional. But do let us know if FFG responds.

radiskull said:

The rules text for Targeted Strike says "may assign", so I think it's optional. But do let us know if FFG responds.

dbmeboy said:

radiskull said:

The rules text for Targeted Strike says "may assign", so I think it's optional. But do let us know if FFG responds.

Nate French agrees with you. I only wasn't sure myself because I thought they may have used "may" to keep you able to hit a participating unit.

Yeah, that was my worry as well. Good to know we've got an official ruling now though.

He is pretty fast at answering questions through the link at the bottom of the page :-)