Replica droid question

By LETE, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

Hiyas!

Noob confused:

When the Replica Droid (or, for that matter, cards that come into play using similar rules) comes in-to play by winning an Edge Battle, does the DS player have to pay its' cost, or its' cost is "waivered" by accomplishing it's special rule?

Thanks!

L

Not for the Replica droid because it says to "put into play."

If it said "play" then you have to pay its costs. It mentions this in the rulebook (forgot what page right now).

But anyways, welcome toi the game and feel free to post other questions. There are some great helpers here and if you ever are not satisfied with our comments about the rules, e-mail FFG and they will give you the official ruling.

If the card in question allows says "put in play" (eg the replica droid or Return of the Jedi), you do not have to pay the cost. If the card merly allows you to play the card at an unusual time (eg Ackbar or Backstabber), you still have to pay the cost.

Here is the rulebook entry:

Play describes an action where a player pays the resource cost of a card in hand and transfers it into play (for a unit card or an enhancement card) or resolves its effects and then discards it (for an event card). (See “In Play and Out of Play” on page 27).]

Put into play describes an effect that takes a card from an out of play state and transfers it directly into play without paying its resource cost. Objective cards are put into play from their owner’s objective decks.

Hi:

Double thanks!

L