Yay! Newb question time!

By 5Crows, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Hello

I just purchased the XWing starter box, and love the game.
I have a quick question though, and not sure where to look here, so just thought I would post it.

If I have an XWing with the R2D2 upgrade (with which I can replace a shield token after completing a green move), it is not an action, which means it can be done, regardless, correct?


The reason I ask is this: if I execute a green move to replenish a shield, but in using a green move, come base-to-base with another ship, can I still get the shield back? There are no stipulations that I have seen saying that the move must be completed as intended.


Would this also work if I hit an obstacle? In which case, I could replenish my shield AND THEN roll for damage because of the struck obstacle?


Thanks!

yes. As long as you select a green manuever with R2-D2 you regenerate a shield upto your maximum amount (i.e. 2 for xwings, 3 if you are using shield upgrade).

You do not have to complete the green manuever for R2's ability to take effect, or remove stress.

Make sure you read over the FAQ on the main Xwing page…under Support, it has some clarifications also.

Hey!
Thanks--I'll check out the FAQ page

:)