Hi All,
I am curious how people rule the following issue:
- A character with a blunderbuss is targeting an engagement of 3 enemies. Each enemy has a very different defense value. One has zero, one has 1, one has 2 defenses.
- The blunderbuss has the Blast quality: Blast: A weapon with the blast quality targets one engagement up to the weapon's range. Everyone in the targeted engagement is subject to the effects of the attack . Blast attacks cannot be parried or blocked, but targets may choose to dodge. Rather than the normal dodge effect, each dice an individual defender would normally contribute to the pool for dodging increases his soak value by 1 against the blast attack.
- The ranged attack is made using a special action, for example Mechanical Precision. It succeeds with 3 boons (i.e. +1 crit, + 2 dmg)
So, here is where I am confused: Blast is meant to target an engagement, but the action card refers to a specific target. So, then what? Do everyone in the engagement is hit for +1 crit and +2 dmg? Or is the specific target hit by the special action effect, and other targets in the engagement suffer normal damage only?
I am curious on how people rule. I am inclined to simplify and say everyone is hit for the special action effect, but it will make the blunderbuss a migthy weapon in the hand of a skilled ranged figther/engineer, able to deal huge amount of damage and crits to wide groups. I am cool with that given blackpowder weapons should be dangerous.
Cheers
Ceodryn