Backstabber vs. Falcon, Slave I

By Buhallin, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Anyone have a solid read on when Backstabber would get the out-of-arc bonus against the big ships?

The Falcon has only one firing arc, and the turret allows it to attack anything either in or out of its firing arc. So I think that as long as Backstabber's out of the forward firing arc, you'd get the extra die.

The Firespray is a little trickier… The rules insert describes it's option to fire to the rear as being an auxillary firing arc - hence, still a firing arc. So Backstabber would need to be out of both firing arcs in order to get the bonus.

Does that seem right?

Correct on both accounts.

If you read the Falcon insert, it specifically states "a ship may target an enemy ship inside or outside its firing arc", so it still utilizes the firing arc, but it can target a ship outside of that arc. Hence Backstabber's ability is dependent upon how that arc is facing in relation to himself. And the Slave 1 does have front and rear firing arcs, so Backstabber needs to be outside of both of those in order to use his ability. And strategy-wise, that's where you want to be anyway. ;-)

I think we are missing something here, the Falcon has a 360 degree primary firing arc and a secondary front arc for missles. Backstabber won't be sneaking up on the Falcon ever. The read on Slave I is correct though, you can get Backstabbers bonus only from the sides.

Dr. Z said:

I think we are missing something here, the Falcon has a 360 degree primary firing arc and a secondary front arc for missles. Backstabber won't be sneaking up on the Falcon ever. The read on Slave I is correct though, you can get Backstabbers bonus only from the sides.

You are totally incorrect about the Falcon. The rules sheet for the ship states:

"Each ship in this pack uses a turret as its primary weapon. Thus, each Ship card shows the Turret Primary Weapon icon, and each ship token shows a circular red arrow as a reminder.

When attacking with a Turret Primary Weapon, a ship may target an enemy ship inside or outside its firing arc. When attacking with a secondary weapon, the ship must still target a ship inside its firing arc {unless specified on the Upgrade card}."

The turret on the Falcon does not create new definitions of firing arcs and Bacstabber gets his ability as normal vs the Falcon.

Jim

Yep, my bad. I went back and read the rule sheet completely. I made the assumption the 360 was the firing arc. It is not. Hothie and Emrico are correct.