Soontir Fel and Push the Limit

By Darth Chaos, in X-Wing Rules Questions


I'd like to get some clarification on what a FREE ACTION is compared to PERFORMING AN ACTION.



Soontir's pilot ability is: When you receive a stress token, you may assign 1 focus token to your ship.



PTL reads: Once per round, after you perform an action, you may perform 1 free action shown in your action bar. Then receive 1 stress token.



So could I perform EVADE as the action, then use PTL to get a EVADE as a FREE ACTION, then get a FOCUS token on top of that?




I initially didn't think so because you can only PERFORM AN ACTION once per round, but I'm wondering if a FREE ACTION is somehow different or avoids this rule.

Normally you take an Action after your maneuver.

A Free Action is an action you can take in addition to your regular action.

You may NOT take the same type of action twice whether it is your normal action or a free action.

What you COULD do, is after Fel's maneuver give him a FOCUS action, then using Push The Limit, give him an EVADE/Barrel Roll/Boost action as a free action and recieve a STRESS token. When he recieves a STRESS, he gains a FOCUS token (not as any kind of an action, free or otherwise, he just gets the token as per his special text) so he can have two FOCUS tokens on him in a turn.

Fel and PTL is my favorite combo right now. He is insanely maneuverable and will always be able to have a Focus token, usually two, on him. Add a Stealth Device and he is bananas.