Elusive question

By nimdabew, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Consider a turn of combat for a second…

Sontir Fel + elusive

Attacker does all of their attacks and you get a crit and one damage roll.

Soontir rolls his three die, gets a focus, focus, and blank.

Soontir then tells the attacker to re-roll the crit, getting a focus and stress.

The attacker rolls a hit/crit.

Soontir then uses the focus to turn the two focus die results into evade evade.

Can Soontir choose to have the attacker re-roll the crit getting him the focus token and stress token to use during that attack? From reading the rules, there is no defined time that the elusive defender must use the re-roll ability so choosing to re-roll before hits are calculated is legal. Right?

It looks legal to me. There are no rules to specify against it.

Soontir must use Elusiveness to make the attacker reroll any dice before the defense dice are rolled. In fact, he would have to use it before the attacker got to use any of his dice modification abilities such as target lock. See page 11 under "3. Modify Attack Dice". All attack dice modifications must occur before any defense dice are rolled.

ziggy2000 said:

Soontir must use Elusiveness to make the attacker reroll any dice before the defense dice are rolled. In fact, he would have to use it before the attacker got to use any of his dice modification abilities such as target lock. See page 11 under "3. Modify Attack Dice". All attack dice modifications must occur before any defense dice are rolled.

I believe you are right.

One last question, I assume that elusive cannot force Han to reroll a reroll result since he already rerolled it right? I am 99% sure on that.

nimdabew said:

ziggy2000 said:

Soontir must use Elusiveness to make the attacker reroll any dice before the defense dice are rolled. In fact, he would have to use it before the attacker got to use any of his dice modification abilities such as target lock. See page 11 under "3. Modify Attack Dice". All attack dice modifications must occur before any defense dice are rolled.

I believe you are right.

One last question, I assume that elusive cannot force Han to reroll a reroll result since he already rerolled it right? I am 99% sure on that.

It depends on the order of things. Here's an example.

Han rolls an attack, and gets a Crit, a hit and a blank. You use Elusiveness to make him reroll the Crit. He rolls a blank. He then use his ability to reroll. He can't reroll all of the dice because he has already rerolled the Crit, but he has to reroll as much as he can. So he rolls the hit and the first blank. He gets 2 focus. He spends his focus for 2 hits total. Now Soontir gets a stress token when he used Elusiveness to force a reroll. Now Soontir gets a free focus. Soontir rolls 3 evade dice and comes up with a blank, and 2 focus. He spends his Focus and takes no damage.

That's how that would work out.

The die rolling/modification breakdown goes like this:

2. Roll attack dice
3. Modify attack dice
3a. Defender modifies attack dice
3b. Attacker modifies attack dice
4. Roll defense dice
5. Modify defense dice
5a. Attacker modifies defense dice
5b. Defender modifies attack dice.

Note that "modifying" dice includes adding extra results (such as from Evade tokens), changing results (such as from Focus tokens) and rerolling dice.

So the order is very well defined. In this case, as Froggies says, Elusiveness would go first (as part of 3a), and then Han could use his ability (as part of 3b) to reroll everything except the die affected by Elusiveness.

The easy way I remember this is that if the dice are in your hand, your opponent modifies first. Common courtesy, after all :)