Ion Cannon Vs Bombs

By Joshkj, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Simple question, in this scenario theres a shieldless firespray gets hit with a sucessful ion cannon.

Can he still drop a seismic charge on his single forward move?

Thanks!

-J

For large ships it take two hits from an Ion cannon before it gets "ionized". Lets just say the the Firespray is "ionized", and for his next move it's just the one straight.

For Seismic Charges - The rule on the Seismic Charge reads,"When you reveal your movement dial, you may discard this card to drop 1 seismic charge token." You would not be able to drop this bomb, because you don't revel your maneuver dial. The rule on the Ion card states that the owner doesn't assign a manever dial. For this bomb the answer is no.

For Proximity Mines - As long as the Firespray is able to take an action then he could drop this mine.

I also want to point out that it completely does not matter if the Firespray had shields or not, since your question specifies that it was shieldless. Shields do not prevent the effects from ion cannons.

Simple question, in this scenario theres a shieldless firespray gets hit with a sucessful ion cannon.

Can he still drop a seismic charge on his single forward move?

Thanks!

-J

I'm pretty sure you wouldn't want to do this even if you could, because the I don't think the straight 1 maneuver would get you outside range 1 of the Seismic Charge… or would it?

Actually it does, since the base is so large, and your dropping the siesmic 1 behind you, then you move 1 forward. But its moot since you cant.

The other thing about the big ships having such big bases, the ionezed 1 forward can easily put them off the table.

I'm pretty sure you wouldn't want to do this even if you could, because the I don't think the straight 1 maneuver would get you outside range 1 of the Seismic Charge… or would it?

It does take you out of range of the seismic charge. You place the seismic charge range 1 behind you, then you move range 1 forward. The Big Base of the Firespray is almost range 1 in length by its self. However if you are Ioned it doesn't matter because you don't reveal a maneuver so you can't place the charge.

You're right. I forgot about that big honkin' base… atontado