gunner crew member. can he he shoot?

By swampthing2, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Beginning to think i might be an idiot but a simple clarification would be good, as it could be very important.

Does the gunner/luke ability trigger if i roll a hit but the target evades this hit resulting in a miss by me, or does it only trigger if my dice roll never rolls any damage?

thx for your help in advanvce

According to the rulebook, hits are tallied in Step 6 (pp 12), when your compare attack dice to defense dice and cancel results. The word "HIT" is even in bold uppercase. The word "hit" is never mentioned in the other steps, they only refer to the 2 star symbols and the evade symbol.

So the gunner and Luke's ability would kick in and you would restart the process at Step 1, since you can declare a new target as well. It's a brand new attack with your primary weapon.

Thanks,

Yes if you roll for insance 2 damage and one critical damage on your dice and your opponent for example rolls 2 evade icons and spends an evade token then you have caused no hits so get to use your gunner or luke to perform a primary weapon atack. An example i saw on an earlier forum thread was, han solo fires at an enemy ship and rolls 1 damage symbol, he can then re roll ALL of his dice for the chance to get a better result, this time he rolls 2 damage and 1 critical damage, then the enemy some how manages to evade all the damage, then gunner or luke could shoot the primary weapon again and spend any focus or target lock tokens. hope this helps.

mrgoodtrips said:

Yes if you roll for insance 2 damage and one critical damage on your dice and your opponent for example rolls 2 evade icons and spends an evade token then you have caused no hits so get to use your gunner or luke to perform a primary weapon atack. An example i saw on an earlier forum thread was, han solo fires at an enemy ship and rolls 1 damage symbol, he can then re roll ALL of his dice for the chance to get a better result, this time he rolls 2 damage and 1 critical damage, then the enemy some how manages to evade all the damage, then gunner or luke could shoot the primary weapon again and spend any focus or target lock tokens. hope this helps.

Also, Han's ability can be used again on the 2nd attack allowed by the gunner or Luke.

Insane! Good insane that is. :-)