Homing Missiles and Target Lock

By Hrathen, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Homing Missiles have the text ATTACK [Target Lock]

pg 19 of the rule book calls this a requirement to use the secondaryt weapon. But Homing Missiles do not have the text that says spend your target lock, like all other missiles and torpedoes.

As I read the rules that mean that you need a target lock to fire homing missiles but you don't have to spend it simply to fire the missile. This lets you keep it, or use it to re-roll the attack dice for the misile attack.

Or does the Attack[Target Lock] imply that you have to spend your target lock to fire the missile?

Hrathen said:

Homing Missiles have the text ATTACK [Target Lock]

pg 19 of the rule book calls this a requirement to use the secondaryt weapon. But Homing Missiles do not have the text that says spend your target lock, like all other missiles and torpedoes.

As I read the rules that mean that you need a target lock to fire homing missiles but you don't have to spend it simply to fire the missile. This lets you keep it, or use it to re-roll the attack dice for the misile attack.

Or does the Attack[Target Lock] imply that you have to spend your target lock to fire the missile?

I wonder if this will be errataed or if it is the intended usage.

paradox23 said:

I wonder if this will be errataed or if it is the intended usage.

It's 5 points. It's better than the 4- and 3-point missiles. It's comparable to Assault Missles.

I'm confident it isn't an error.

I was hoping the text for Deadeye might give some insight, but it really doesn't.

You just gotta play it according to the text - different from the other missiles - until such a time that it's erattaed or clarified.

I think its meant to be played as follows; you must have a target lock, you roll for damage and then may use the target lock to re roll if you wish. the name of the weapon is homing missiles, the above way of using them represents a abstract way of showing that its easier to hit a target as they can chase the target.(home in on a target) note though that you cannot use dead eye with these missiles as deadeye requires you to spend a target lock. remember these rules have been playtested and i asked a similar question on an earlier thread, this was answered by hothie or piccaso who competed at the worlds so their oppinion is good enough for me. also with homing missiles they allow you to ignore evade tokens which means they would be more beneficial to rebel fleets as they have more ships that can perform evade. hope this helps. MRGOODTRIPS

Deadeye does not require you to spend a target lock.

sorry did not have card to hand, The card states in the second paragraph "when an attack instructs you to spend a target lock , you may spend a focus token instead. homing missiles do not require you to spend a target lock therefore this card is no use with them.

mrgoodtrips said:

sorry did not have card to hand, The card states in the second paragraph "when an attack instructs you to spend a target lock , you may spend a focus token instead. homing missiles do not require you to spend a target lock therefore this card is no use with them.

The card reads:

"You may treat the 'ATTACK (TARGET LOCK):' header as 'ATTACK (FOCUS):.'

When an attack instructs you to spend a target lock, you may spend a focus token instead."

So it does work with Homing Missile. It allows you to treat the header of homing missile as if it were ATTACK (FOCUS):. As homing missile does not require you to spend a target lock, the 2nd part of Deadeye does nothing.

The first part of the card is all you need to read to know that deadeye can be used. You keep your focus token as well, just like you would have kept the target lock, so that's pretty handy too.

radiskull said:

It's 5 points. It's better than the 4- and 3-point missiles. It's comparable to Assault Missles.

I'm confident it isn't an error.

It's a 5 point missile, but it only gives you 3 attack dice instead of 4. If your oppoanant has an evade token then it is better than a straight 4 attack dice, but a Homing Missiles is less versitile than a standard concussion missile.

I agree that when I read the card it seems to be printed in error, but it I don't think I would ever take it for 5 points if it cost you your target lock

Hrathen said:

It's a 5 point missile, but it only gives you 3 attack dice instead of 4. If your oppoanant has an evade token then it is better than a straight 4 attack dice, but a Homing Missiles is less versitile than a standard concussion missile.

I agree that when I read the card it seems to be printed in error, but it I don't think I would ever take it for 5 points if it cost you your target lock

Where are you getting that it's only 3 attack dice? I'm looking at it and I see a big, red 4…

Right. It's always a good thing to actually be sure of the wording.

Hrathen said:

radiskull said:

It's 5 points. It's better than the 4- and 3-point missiles. It's comparable to Assault Missles.

I'm confident it isn't an error.

It's a 5 point missile, but it only gives you 3 attack dice instead of 4. If your oppoanant has an evade token then it is better than a straight 4 attack dice, but a Homing Missiles is less versitile than a standard concussion missile.

I agree that when I read the card it seems to be printed in error, but it I don't think I would ever take it for 5 points if it cost you your target lock

As others have said I do not know what you are talking about.

It is a 5pt, 4 attack, range 2-3 missle, with no added bonus. It clearly does not state that you need to discard your Target Lock. That is the added bonus compared to other missle and torpedoes. There is no reason to assume there is a missprint, unless of course you cards really say 3 for attack.

paradox23 said:

The first part of the card is all you need to read to know that deadeye can be used. You keep your focus token as well, just like you would have kept the target lock, so that's pretty handy too.

Yep, you don't even need to have target locked beforehand if you have Homing Missiles and Deadeye. You just point your A-wing in the general direction of your enemy, Focus, then shoot your Homing Missile. AND you still have the focus token on the ready to spend on the attack or to keep for defence.

radiskull said:

It's 5 points. It's better than the 4- and 3-point missiles. It's comparable to Assault Missles.

I'm confident it isn't an error.

Late to the party and slightly off-topic, but this isn't the first time I've seen someone refer to 3-point missiles. As far as I can tell, there aren't any in my collection--was there an early printing that had Cluster Missiles at 3, or something?

All of my Cluster Missiles cards say 3-point attacks.

Gullwind said:

All of my Cluster Missiles cards say 3-point attacks.

dbmeboy said:

Gullwind said:

All of my Cluster Missiles cards say 3-point attacks.

An attack of 3 and a point cost of 3 are different things.

My Cluster Missile cards have a red three next to the title, and a four point cost in the bottom right corner. Is that what yours say?

Gullwind said:

dbmeboy said:

Gullwind said:

All of my Cluster Missiles cards say 3-point attacks.

An attack of 3 and a point cost of 3 are different things.

My Cluster Missile cards have a red three next to the title, and a four point cost in the bottom right corner. Is that what yours say?

Yes, that's what they say. Vorpal Sword's post a few places up about not having any 3-point missiles was refering to their cost, not their attack value.

Sorry, my bad. I misunderstood.

Gullwind said:

Sorry, my bad. I misunderstood.

I saw, which is what I was trying to clear up. Internet posts are fun like that sometimes, eh? :-)