new 1.4 FAQ "added" vs "revealed"

By PESKPESK, in Rules questions & answers

With the new 1.4 FAQ

(1.01) Encounter Keywords
Surge, Doomed, and Guarded keywords should be
resolved any time the card on which they occur is
revealed from the encounter deck, including during
setup.

So if a card it "added" - as opposed to being revealed - it no longer dooms/surges/gets guarded?

PESKPESK said:

With the new 1.4 FAQ

(1.01) Encounter Keywords

Surge, Doomed, and Guarded keywords should be

resolved any time the card on which they occur is

revealed from the encounter deck, including during

setup.

So if a card it "added" - as opposed to being revealed - it no longer dooms/surges/gets guarded?

Good, so by that I also guess that ex The Great Goblin can't get ex Goblin Driver to trigger thier When Revealed effect.

The Great Goblin
Forced: After The Great Goblin attacks, discard X cards from the encounter deck where X is the number of players in the game. Add each Goblin enemy discarded by this effect to the staging area.

Goblin Driver
When Revealed: The first player exhausts 1 character he controls.

Does this also work with the Suspicious Crow in We Must Away Ere Break of Day? The crow says something like: "When Revealed: Add the top card of the encounter discard pile to the staging area." So since the encounter deck in that one has a lot of treacheries, does this mean that if a treachery card is added to the staging area because of the crow, then it's effect does not trigger? That would seem a little strange.

legolas18 said:

Does this also work with the Suspicious Crow in We Must Away Ere Break of Day? The crow says something like: "When Revealed: Add the top card of the encounter discard pile to the staging area." So since the encounter deck in that one has a lot of treacheries, does this mean that if a treachery card is added to the staging area because of the crow, then it's effect does not trigger? That would seem a little strange.

Suspicious Crow says " When Revealed: Reveal the top card of the encounter discard pile and add it to the staging area, if able. "

The top card of the encounter discard pile is revealed, not just added - so the treachery will resolve as normal.

PESKPESK said:

Good, so by that I also guess that ex The Great Goblin can't get ex Goblin Driver to trigger thier When Revealed effect.

That was already the case.

kennoastic said:

Suspicious Crow says " When Revealed: Reveal the top card of the encounter discard pile and add it to the staging area, if able. "

The top card of the encounter discard pile is revealed, not just added - so the treachery will resolve as normal.

Thanks again for clarifying… I should probably read these more carefully.