Turr Phennir and Daredevil

By RAGE1073, in X-Wing Rules Questions

This may be an easy question to answer and though I've looked for an answer by flipping through the pages I haven't been able to find it.

But if I use daredevil and execute a red maneuver (which then I get a stress token), can I still use turr Phennirs ability?

I was thinking maybe you could because the free action happens during the attack phase but if anyone can help me with this it would be much appreciated.

RAGE1073 said:

This may be an easy question to answer and though I've looked for an answer by flipping through the pages I haven't been able to find it.

But if I use daredevil and execute a red maneuver (which then I get a stress token), can I still use turr Phennirs ability?

I was thinking maybe you could because the free action happens during the attack phase but if anyone can help me with this it would be much appreciated.

No. Nothing on Turr's ability lets him override the rule that having a Stress token prevents you taking actions. If you want to use his ability, you do have to be careful to make sure he isn't stressed when the time comes. The Stress rules also specifically prevent even free actions.

Jim

Ehhhh Im not so sure. The FAQ says that Q: "if a player has multiple effects that resolve at the same time, can he resolve them in any order?" A: Yes.

Would this not apply in this case, since its all happening in the action phase? Does it specifically state that an action given by a special ability has to happen after everything else in the action phase?

I have a similar question, which would be as Turr Phennir, could I use my movement to make a hard right, daredevil to make a further hard right, and use my action to barrel roll.

also, this sounds silly, but the Daredevil ability tells you to make that red maneuver, and if your ship doesn't have that maneuver to roll for damage etc. but Im wondering, if your ship DOES have that maneuver, and its NOT a red maneuver on your movement disc, do you still get a stress for it?

The Amazing Flight Lizard said:

Ehhhh Im not so sure. The FAQ says that Q: "if a player has multiple effects that resolve at the same time, can he resolve them in any order?" A: Yes.

Would this not apply in this case, since its all happening in the action phase? Does it specifically state that an action given by a special ability has to happen after everything else in the action phase?

I have a similar question, which would be as Turr Phennir, could I use my movement to make a hard right, daredevil to make a further hard right, and use my action to barrel roll.

also, this sounds silly, but the Daredevil ability tells you to make that red maneuver, and if your ship doesn't have that maneuver to roll for damage etc. but Im wondering, if your ship DOES have that maneuver, and its NOT a red maneuver on your movement disc, do you still get a stress for it?

I'll answer your question first then I'll try and answer the OP.

So you take a hard right with Turr. Then you take the Daredevil action. You make a red hard 1 turn. After doing that you take a stress token. The rest of the movement phase happens. Turr shoots at a target, because he's stressed he's unable to perform an action. Pg.17 While a ship has at least one stress token, it cannot execute red maneuvers or perform actions (even free actions). Turr's ability reads, "After you perform an attack, you may perform a free boost or barrel roll action." Because he's stressed he can't do either.

Some additional info. Daredevil is not a boost or barrel roll action, so even if Turr was not stressed he wouldn't be able to do a Daredevil action after an attack.

The Amazing Flight Lizard said:

Ehhhh Im not so sure. The FAQ says that Q: "if a player has multiple effects that resolve at the same time, can he resolve them in any order?" A: Yes.

Would this not apply in this case, since its all happening in the action phase? Does it specifically state that an action given by a special ability has to happen after everything else in the action phase?

I have a similar question, which would be as Turr Phennir, could I use my movement to make a hard right, daredevil to make a further hard right, and use my action to barrel roll.

also, this sounds silly, but the Daredevil ability tells you to make that red maneuver, and if your ship doesn't have that maneuver to roll for damage etc. but Im wondering, if your ship DOES have that maneuver, and its NOT a red maneuver on your movement disc, do you still get a stress for it?

Turr's special ability does NOT happen in the Activation phase. It happens after he performs an attack (during the Combat Phase). So if he takes an action during his Activation phase that gives him a Stress token, he is unable to perform a Boost or Barrel Roll Action during the Combat Phase as you cannot perform an action if you have a Stress token. There's not really any ambiguity on the timing here.

Also…The Daredevil card says nothing about the maneuver dial having/not having the 1-Turn Maneuver. It says nothing about the maneuver dial at all. What it does say is that if the ship performing the Daredevil maneuver does not have the Boost Action Icon, then the ship must roll for damage. Ships with the Boost action may perform Daredevil with only a Stress token as the downside. Ships without Boost roll two damage dice when performing the action.

Jim

Thanks for the clarification gentlemen.

Daredevil just went in my mind from the most whoop-ass skill to a little better than "meh".

The Amazing Flight Lizard said:

Thanks for the clarification gentlemen.

Daredevil just went in my mind from the most whoop-ass skill to a little better than "meh".

It's not in the same league as Push the limit, but if used wisely it can be still be good.