Triggering effects -- new FAQ

By GrandSpleen, in Rules questions & answers

From the new FAQ:
(1.36) Triggered abilities vs. Passive abilities
Triggered abilities are abilities on cards that have a
bold trigger word such as Action or Response. These
abilities are only applied when they are triggered.
Passive abilities are abilities on cards that have an
ongoing effect without a bold trigger word. Because
passive abilities don’t have a trigger they are always
active and cannot be “triggered”.
--------
Do you take this to mean that, because Passive abilities are not 'triggered,' encounter card effects that prevent effects from triggering (e.g,. troll sacks) will not disable a Passive ability? In other words, if Bilbo (Lore) gets sacked in CatC, or Thorin or Ori get sacked in WMAEBOD, their abilities would not be blocked.

GrandSpleen said:

From the new FAQ:
(1.36) Triggered abilities vs. Passive abilities
Triggered abilities are abilities on cards that have a
bold trigger word such as Action or Response. These
abilities are only applied when they are triggered.
Passive abilities are abilities on cards that have an
ongoing effect without a bold trigger word. Because
passive abilities don’t have a trigger they are always
active and cannot be “triggered”.
--------
Do you take this to mean that, because Passive abilities are not 'triggered,' encounter card effects that prevent effects from triggering (e.g,. troll sacks) will not disable a Passive ability? In other words, if Bilbo (Lore) gets sacked in CatC, or Thorin or Ori get sacked in WMAEBOD, their abilities would not be blocked.

Bilbo ok and Ori too but Thorin no, cose he cannot collect recources if he sucked.

oh yeah, duh… I am full of silly mistakes. Thanks.

Thorin's passive ability will still work when sacked in the 1st hobbit scenario, because the sack cards do not prevent a character from drawing resources, which is different then the sack cards in CatC. Right?

If a hero is sacked in the hobbit he probably can not pay for events since events are triggered effects, but they still can pay for allies, right? If a hero pays for an ally while sacked, I assume the allies effect can still trigger.

I don't think the hero is considered to be triggering an effect when they pay for an event card (in that case, the hero is paying or helping to pay the cost of the card, but it is the PLAYER who is triggering the effect). I take the Sacked text to simply mean that the hero's "Action" or "Response" ability can't be used.

And yeah, I think Glaurung just had it backwards -- the Conflict at the Carrock sacks prevent resource collection, but the We Must Away Ere Break of Day sacks do not. So Thorin's ability should be useable in WMAEBoD.

What do you think about attachments on a hero who has been sacked, like legacy of durin or steward of gondor,. Since those are actions and responses attaced to the sacked hero, can they still be triggered?

Attachments exhaust independently, so I don't think a sack would affect them. It's a little weird for, say, Thorin to exhaust his weapon and kill a troll via Goblin-cleaver while inside of a sack, but I don't think any rules prevent it. Again I'd say the hero is not triggering the effect, the attachment is.

Earlier I said the player is triggering the Action or Response on an event card -- maybe that's not the best way to look at it. The event card itself is triggering the action. That way of thinking would be consistent with the wording on 'sack' cards-- a hero who is sacked cannot trigger effects. This suggests that the hero card triggers its own text. Likewise, maybe an attachment and or event card is considered to be triggering its effect when you use its Action or Response (and, simultaneously, the player also is triggering the effect). Just some concepts that need to be ironed out, I guess…