Dropping objects after death

By JBouthietteJr, in Talisman Rules Questions

So I'll be picking up Talisman this week to play with my gaming crew and have been reviewing the rules so we may ease right into playing. Knowing that, what I'm about to ask might be really obvious and easy to figure out in-game but it's the only thing that is confusing me right now based on just reading the rules and briefly scouring the FAQ:

If a character is killed, their Objects, Magic Objects, gold and Followers are dropped on the space in which they died. So in this hypothetical situation, the character dropped two Objects and a Follower in a Woods space. The Woods space says to draw one Adventure card for its encounter: but there's already the three because of the recently killed character.

What do you do? Draw one Adventure card, resolve it, then stake your claim in the remaining cards? That's how I'd understand it to be. But does that mean you could ditch a card and continue adding to the pile?

Thanks for the help in advance. As I said, not having actually played the game, these are just a few of the questions I have going into it.

The board states information about what to do.
In most cases a text like "do not draw a card if there already is one here" is printed

So in your case, no card is drawn, since the dropped cards counts as this card (and some more).

So just land on the space and encounter those cards in order, pick them up if you want them and have room for them.

Welcome to Talisman =)

Also if a character is killed in combat by another character, the victor can take all the spoils ;)