Question about Garven and focus tokens.

By Rogue Dakotan, in X-Wing Rules Questions

This was on the FAQ.
Q: Can Garven Dreis spend a focus token to
modify dice even if he didn’t roll any [focus] symbols?
A: Yes.

Can someone explain this to me? I don't understand how he could modify dice with a focus from what it says on his card which says:
After spending a focus token, you may place that token on any other friendly ship at Range 1-2 (instead of discarding it).

EVERYONE can modify dice with a focus token - that's what the focus token does. What this ruling does is clarifies that you can modify zero dice, if you wish, to take advantage of Garven's ability.

radiskull said:

EVERYONE can modify dice with a focus token - that's what the focus token does. What this ruling does is clarifies that you can modify zero dice, if you wish, to take advantage of Garven's ability.

Ah this makes sense now. Thank you for explaining it. The wording of the FAQ made it sound like he could still change dice with a focus even though he hadn't rolled any eyeballs.

All clear now. :)

It's means that you could discard the focus token when you want, even if you don't use to change the eye simbols on the dice, so you could discard at byour entire wish, after your attack, greettings.