Stacking abilities with objects?

By Weslocke, in Talisman Rules Questions

Does the Spellbook from the city and the ability of characters who start their turn by getting a spell if their craft allows, stack?? Our problem occured when the Fire Mage bought a spell book, and then on the start of his turn said he got 2 spells one from his ability and the other from the spell book. Is this right??

As long as a character has sufficient Craft they can have up to 3 spells. But the spell book allows a spell even if you don't have enough Craft.

I think the Fire Wizard has base 5 Craft, which allows 2 spells, and at the start of his turn, if no other spells. Adding that to a spell book and it gives him 3 spells each turn, *if* he has none at the start of his turn.

Weslocke said:

Does the Spellbook from the city and the ability of characters who start their turn by getting a spell if their craft allows, stack?? Our problem occured when the Fire Mage bought a spell book, and then on the start of his turn said he got 2 spells one from his ability and the other from the spell book. Is this right??

The abilities stack depending on the wording.

The Spellbook and the Fire Wizard abilities say "at the start of your turn, you may gain 1 Spell if your Craft allows".

The Wand and Wizard ability say "you always have at least one Spell. (Gain a Spell each time you cast your last Spell)"

The first stack, the second do not stack. Why? Because there can be two of the first acting SEPARATELY at the same time, but not two of the second. Having at least one Spell is always the same if taken separately, putting two together doesn't turn it into "you always have at least two Spells".

Hang on if two effects trigger at the same time the player who's turn it is can choose the order, surely the always have 1 spell could go first if the player has no spells then the spellbook. Mind you you couldnt cast anything that turn.

0beron said:

As long as a character has sufficient Craft they can have up to 3 spells. But the spell book allows a spell even if you don't have enough Craft.

No, you may gain 1 Spell from the Spellbook if your Craft allows.

Uvatha said:

Hang on if two effects trigger at the same time the player who's turn it is can choose the order, surely the always have 1 spell could go first if the player has no spells then the spellbook. Mind you you couldnt cast anything that turn.

Remember that according to the Sage's FAQ on page 6 the Sage and any character that gains Spells at the start of his turn, may cast them during the turn.

The_Warlock said:

Uvatha said:

Hang on if two effects trigger at the same time the player who's turn it is can choose the order, surely the always have 1 spell could go first if the player has no spells then the spellbook. Mind you you couldnt cast anything that turn.

Remember that according to the Sage's FAQ on page 6 the Sage and any character that gains Spells at the start of his turn, may cast them during the turn.

Uvatha said:


Remember that according to the Sage's FAQ on page 6 the Sage and any character that gains Spells at the start of his turn, may cast them during the turn.

Ok… So the character can cast the spells if they gain them at start of their turn. So I'm lost right now? What was the Question? Can the Fire Wizard have 3 spells per turn with the Spellbook or 2 spells per turn with the Spellbook

Don't get lost, Uvatha. complice

He can get 1 Spell per turn with his ability and 1 Spell per turn for each Spellbook he has. If he gets both Spellbooks, he gains 3 Spells at the start of his turn and can cast them during the turn.

The_Warlock said:

Uvatha said:


Remember that according to the Sage's FAQ on page 6 the Sage and any character that gains Spells at the start of his turn, may cast them during the turn.

Ok… So the character can cast the spells if they gain them at start of their turn. So I'm lost right now? What was the Question? Can the Fire Wizard have 3 spells per turn with the Spellbook or 2 spells per turn with the Spellbook

Don't get lost, Uvatha. complice

He can get 1 Spell per turn with his ability and 1 Spell per turn for each Spellbook he has. If he gets both Spellbooks, he gains 3 Spells at the start of his turn and can cast them during the turn.