Striking/Focus Question

By sliebert, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

Sorry if this question was posted somewhere else, but I couldn't find it.

Let's say I'm attacked by one person, and block with 2 defenders.

Let's say I win the edge, and strike First. I kill the ONE attacker right away.


Does the second defender (which hasn't struck anything), does he have to focus defending?

Thanks - this came up today.

No unit can leave an engagement ready (unexhausted). You have to focus all units in an engagement even if their combat icons will not have an effect or they have no combat icons.

Budgernaut said:

No unit can leave an engagement ready (unexhausted). You have to focus all units in an engagement even if their combat icons will not have an effect or they have no combat icons.

Not quite true, though correctly answering the question. No unit can leave the "Resolve Strikes" step of the engagement Ready. That is, the Resolve Strikes step will continue until all particing units are exhausted; if there is a Ready participating unit it must strike. If you remove the focus token later during the engagement (ie during the Reward Unopposed step), then the unit can leave the engagement Ready. The best current way to do this is Red Two destroying an objective with the unopposed bonus.

Touche.

[And I just realized they removed the special characters button from the forum software. Bummer.]