Hi guys.
In a game with a revealed cyclon, during a skill check the declare emergncy card has to be played after or before the skill card played by the cyclon???
Thank you.
Hi guys.
In a game with a revealed cyclon, during a skill check the declare emergncy card has to be played after or before the skill card played by the cyclon???
Thank you.
Cylons play their skill cards into the check in normal turn order.
After all cards have been played, the cards are shuffled, revealed and totaled. Declare Emergency can now be played to lower difficulty by 2.
Ok, it's clear.
But if you are a revealed Cylon (above I wrote CYCLON LOL :-) ) you can play ONLY one skill card at the end of a skill check that is resolved. So my question is...declare emergency card has to be played before or after the skill card played by the revealed cylon?
AFAIK a revealed cylon can play only one card, but in the normal order of players, not at the end of the skill check.
No, I'm not agree.
Rules (pag 20 "Revealed cylon players' skill cards") say that "A revelaed cylon player may at his option play ONE skill card into each skill check THAT IS RESOLVED".
Every skill check is resolved. If the rulebook said "as it is resolves", that would have been cause for confusion, but the rulebook does not state when the Cylon plays his card, therefore he plays it in usual player order. Sometimes this is an advantage, as he plays last.
azuredarkness said:
Every skill check is resolved. If the rulebook said "as it is resolves", that would have been cause for confusion, but the rulebook does not state when the Cylon plays his card, therefore he plays it in usual player order. Sometimes this is an advantage, as he plays last.
Agreed. It is just not worded that clearly.
Rulebook says that revealed cylon if he/she wants, could play ONLY 1 skill card after the skill check is resolved. And "resolution" of a skill check means that you have the final result of that skill check. If human lose, revealed cylon will not play his skill card, but if the result of the skill check is positive for humans, revealed cylon can make it fail playing his skill card.
Now...declare emergency card has to be played before or after the cylon skill card???
The rulebook does not say "after", it says "...into each skill check that is resolved", which can be read in (at least) two ways:
into each skill check (that is resolved)
into (each skill check that is resolved)
The former implies past tense, the latter is basically a long winded way to say "each skill check". Most people use the second reading, and I believe the first reading gives an unnecessary advantage to the cylons.
Either way, declare emergency comes at the end.
Gotta agree with those that say it is played as normal. The Cylon plays it in normal turn order. Rules on Page 16 state the order. Rules on page 20 state the limit for revealed Cylon players. No where does it say Cylons play after the skill check is resolved.
Also, playing skill cards into a check after it was resolved is completely pointless, as it was already resolved
azuredarkness said:
Also, playing skill cards into a check after it was resolved is completely pointless, as it was already resolved
Exactly. The wording is odd, but not ambiguous. The cause for it, I suspect, is to only speak about skill checks that are actually activated. There are lots of skill checks on the board or on crisis cards that never happen, and it would be weird for cylons to be throwing cards into them.
azuredarkness said:
Also, playing skill cards into a check after it was resolved is completely pointless, as it was already resolved
Ok, I accept that revealed cylon plays one card during his turn and not at the end, when the skill check is resolved.
But I'm not agree with Azuredarkness (nothing personal :-P ). I mean, playing skill cards into check after it was resolved is not pointless if you are a revealed cylon. If the difficulty of a skill check is 12 and you score 13 after resolving the skill check, you pass the test. But if a revealed cylon have to play his one skill card after the resolution of a skill check, you can easily understand that he/she will have a great power, because with only a 2 strenght skill card not compatible with the check he/she will turn the check to fail!
413554ndr0 said:
I mean, playing skill cards into check after it was resolved is not pointless if you are a revealed cylon. If the difficulty of a skill check is 12 and you score 13 after resolving the skill check, you pass the test. But if a revealed cylon have to play his one skill card after the resolution of a skill check, you can easily understand that he/she will have a great power, because with only a 2 strenght skill card not compatible with the check he/she will turn the check to fail!
It would be a little unfair. Not only would a Cylon then get the last say in how it was resolved, he could also keep back his higher value cards and play just what was needed. Part of the point of the Cylon player putting a card in a Skill check is so that he gambles a bit as well. Does he play a 1 and risk losing? Or play a 5 and overcommit?
The rule as written is good. This variation is too easy for the Cylons.
413554ndr0 said:
azuredarkness said:
Also, playing skill cards into a check after it was resolved is completely pointless, as it was already resolved
Ok, I accept that revealed cylon plays one card during his turn and not at the end, when the skill check is resolved.
But I'm not agree with Azuredarkness (nothing personal :-P ). I mean, playing skill cards into check after it was resolved is not pointless if you are a revealed cylon. If the difficulty of a skill check is 12 and you score 13 after resolving the skill check, you pass the test. But if a revealed cylon have to play his one skill card after the resolution of a skill check, you can easily understand that he/she will have a great power, because with only a 2 strenght skill card not compatible with the check he/she will turn the check to fail!
You misunderstand what the word 'resolved' means. If it's been resolved, it's already over, you can't change the result.