Removal of icon/ immunity question

By Daenarys, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

Could i get clarification based on the following example, i think there are few situations where similar situations would arise and i want to make i am correct.

I have Daenerys Tarygaryen ( F9 ) in play ' Targaryen characters you control get +1 STR. She has the noble crest

I also have Stalwart Shield ( F49 ) in play. ' Noble characters you control cannot lose icons, have their STR reduced or be knelt by card effects'.

My opponent plays the 'Bastard' attachment on Daenerys

What happens to her power icon ?

What happens with the Bastard ?

As an addition to this question.

If Daenerys had initially on her the attachment 'Rusted Sword' and then my opponent played 'Bastard' on her, what would happen ?

I assume Rusted sword would be discarded and Bastard would still go on but what would happen to the military icon that was just on Daenerys ?

Daenarys said:

What happens to her power icon ?

Daenarys said:

What happens with the Bastard ?

Valar doesn't become an illegally revealed plot card just because someone "cannot be killed," so to speak.

Dany would no longer gain a military icon and +2 STR from Rusted Sword. Losing a bonus is not a reduction, and ceasing to gain an icon is not losing it.

Khudzlin said:

Dany would no longer gain a military icon and +2 STR from Rusted Sword. Losing a bonus is not a reduction, and ceasing to gain an icon is not losing it.

Bomb said:

Khudzlin said:

Dany would no longer gain a military icon and +2 STR from Rusted Sword. Losing a bonus is not a reduction, and ceasing to gain an icon is not losing it.

What for? It doesn't protect from attachments overall, just prevention of them being played in her. Basically if you put rusted sword into play via its ability, that would be legal.

Assuming Dany already has a Rusted Sword, Bastard would discard it when played.

but if she gains the "can't have attactments" text then you cannot put the sword on her period. also bastard doesn't take her noble crest unless i'm mistaken

Wolfbrother said:

but if she gains the "can't have attactments" text then you cannot put the sword on her period. also bastard doesn't take her noble crest unless i'm mistaken

Bastard doesn't say the character cannot have attachments put on it. It only says attachments cannot be played on the character. Put into play effects (Rusted Sword's any phase) and attachment transfer effects (The Maester's Path's response) are not affected.

It's all very simple here:

If Rusted Sword is on Dany while Stalwart Shield is in play and Bastard is played on her, the following will happen:

  1. Bastard will become attached to Dany (nothing on Stalwart Shield prevents this)
  2. Rusted Sword is discarded (nothing on Stalwart Shield prevents this)
  3. The +2 STR and MIL icon from the attachment will be gone because Rusted Sword is no longer attached to her (nothing on Stalwart Shield allows a constant effect to continue to apply to a character after the card with the effect leaves play).
  4. Dany will gain the Bastard trait and new attachments cannot be played on her (as per Bastard's effect)
  5. Bastard will not take the POW icon from Dany (Stalwart Shield's effect prevents the loss)