I'd like a little help on interpretation of process. Let's say a player in the conflict phase chooses an objective and commits two attackers, one of those having been a character unit committed to the force. In the player action window, the attacking player passes but the defending player (Light Side) plays "Jedi Mind Trick" and places a focus token on the attacking character unit committed to the force (exhausting the unit from engagement).
Next, the defending units are declared, actions passed, edge battle played and attack commences. Which of the following happens to the character unit committed to the force:
1. The character unit committed to the force is exhausted and doesn't get to attack. That is all.
2. The character unit committed to the force is exhausted and doesn't get to attack, BUT since this unit was committed to attack AND committed to the force, receives two additional focus tokens even though the unit did not get to engage.
I'm thinking option "2" is the correct answer because the rule for exhausted cards only directs that the card cannot "execute its duties" AND the conflict phase requires all cards committed to engage be focused out appropriately.
Thoughts?
DJ